THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, CANBERRA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

THE

HOUSE REPRESENTATIVES. OF

No. 162.

THURSDAY, 25TH JUNE, 1931.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Norman J. O. Makin) took the Chair, and offered Prayers.
- 2. Ministerial Statement—Reparations and Inter-Governmental Debts—Proposal by the President of the United States of America.—Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement informing the House of the text of a Statement made yesterday by the Chancellor of the Exchequer in the House of Commons, concerning the proposal of the President of the United States of America in regard to inter-governmental debts, reparations and relief debts, and announced that the Commonwealth Government assented to the proposal to forego reparations. Mr. Lyons (Leader of the Opposition), by leave, made a Statement with reference to the matter.
- 3. Suspension of Standing Orders-Debt Conversion Agreement Bill.-Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister) moved, That the Standing Orders be suspended in order that the time for speeches on the second and third readings of the Debt Conversion Agreement Bill be limited to thirty minutes with no extensions of time.

Mr. Beasley addressing the House-

Closure.—Mr. Scullin moved, That the question be now put.

Ayes, 54.

Question—That the question be now put—put.
The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Makin, in the Chair)—

Bell		Mr.	Lacey
Blakeley		Mr.	Lewis
Brennan		Mr.	Long
Donald 6	Cameron	Mr.	Lyons
Malcolm	Cameron	Mr.	Mackay
Chifle y	•	Mr.	Marks
Coleman		Mr.	Marr
Bernard	Corser	Mr.	Martens
Crouch	•	Mr.	Maxwell
	Malcolm Chifley Coleman	Blakeley Brennan Donald Cameron Malcolm Cameron Chifley Coleman Bernard Corser	Blakeley Mr. Brennan Mr. Donald Cameron Mr. Malcolm Cameron Mr. Chifley Mr. Coleman Mr. Bernard Corser Mr.

Mr. McGrath

Mr. Culley
Mr. Cunningham Mr. Parker Moloney Mr. Cusack Mr. Morgan Mr. Fenton Mr. Forde Mr. Nairn

Mr. Parkhill Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Thomas Paterson

Mr. Prowse Mr. Riordan Mr. Frost Mr. Gardner Mr. Gibbons Mr. Rowe Mr. Scullin Mr. Theodore Mr. Albert Green Mr. Roland Green Mr. Thompson Mr. Gregory Mr. Tully Mr. Watkins Mr. Gullett Mr. Guy Mr. Hawker Mr. White

Mr. Hunter Tellers: Mr. Jones Mr. Keane Mr. Bayley Mr. Killen Mr. E. C. Riley

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Noes, 12.

Mr. Anstey Mr. Beasley Mr. Curtin Mr. Gabb Mr. Holloway Mr. Hughes Mr. James Mr. W. Maloney

Mr. Edward Riley

Mr. Stewart

Tellers:

Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Yates

F.3014.

25th June, 1931.

And the question—That the motion be agreed to—being accordingly put—The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Makin, in the Chair)—

Ayes , 56.			Noes, 10.		
Mr. Bell Mr. Blakeley	Mr. I Mr. 1			. Anstey . Beasley	
Mr. Brennan	Mr. I			. Gabb	
Mr. Donald Car		· .		. Holloway	
Mr. Malcolm Ca				. Hughes	
Mr. Chifley				. James	
Mr. Coleman		Martens		. W. Maloney	
Mr. Bernard Co				. Stewart	
Mr. Crouch		McGrath	''		
Mr. Culley		Parker Moloney		Tellers:	
Mr. Cunninghan	~ ~ ~	Morgan	Me	. Lazzarini	
Mr. Cusack	Mr. I	Nairn		. Yates	
Mr. Fenton	Mr. I	Parkhill		. 3. (100)	
Mr. Forde	Mr.	Thomas Paterson			
Mr. Josiah Fra	ncis Mr. I	Price			
Mr. Frost	Mr. 1	Prowse			
Mr. Gardner	Mr. I	Edward Riley			
Mr. Gibbons		Riordan	1		
Mr. Albert Gree					
Mr. Roland Gre		Scullin			
Mr. Gregory		Theodore			
Mr. Gullett		Thompson	,		
Mr. Guy	Mr.		1		
Mr. Hawker		Watkins			
Mr. Hunter	. Mr.	White	1		
Mr. Jones	T	ellers:	1		
Mr. Keane			1		
Mr. Killen		Bayley			
Mr. Lacey		E. C. Riley	1	/1 7/6 3	
A 7 ', 1		limerations has an ah	AND THE PROPERTY OF	THE WIAM HOPE OF T	

And so it was resolved in the affirmative by an absolute majority of the Members of the House.

4. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—
Navigation Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1931, No. 69.
Seat of Government Acceptance Act and Seat of Government (Administration) Act—Ordinance of 1931—No. 11—Liquor (No. 2).

5. Debt Conversion Agreement Bill.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time—Debate resumed.

The House continuing to sit until after midnight-

FRIDAY, 26TH JUNE, 1931.

Debate continued.

Question—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Makin, in the Chair)-

Noes, 15. Ir. Anstey Ir. Beasley Ir. Culley
Ir. Beasley
•
Ir. Culley
fr. Curtin
Ir. Holloway
Ir. Keane
ír. Lazzarini
Ir. Long
Ir. W. Maloney
fr. Martens
Ir. Edward Rile y
Ir. Riordan
Ir. Rowe
Tellers:
Mr. E. C. Riley
Ir. Yates
11. 14105
11

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.—Bill read a second time.

25th and 26th June, 1931.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clause 1-

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. McGrath reported accordingly.
Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

- 6. ALTERATION OF HOUR OF NEXT MEETING.—Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until fifteen minutes past two o'clock p.m. this day. Question—put and passed.
- 7. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at fifteen minutes past two o'clock in the morning, adjourned until this day at fifteen minutes past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Eldridge, Mr. Hill, Mr. Latham, Mr. Mathews*, Mr. McNeill, Mr. Earle Page*, and Mr. Ward.

• On leave.

E. W. PARKES,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.