THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA. CANBERRA.

No. 117.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

WEDNESDAY, 2ND NOVEMBER, 1927.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Sir Littleton Groom) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. WITHDRAWAL OF NOTICE OF MOTION .-- Mr. Blakeley, by leave, withdrew the Notice of Motion standing in his name with reference to the establishment of a Research Laboratory at Broken Hill.
- 3. Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works-Report.-Mr. Mackay, Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works, brought up the following Report from the Committee :-

Report, together with Minutes of Evidence, relating to the proposed establishment of an Automatic Telephone Exchange at Oakleigh, Victoria.

Ordered to be printed.

4. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Northern Australia Act-

Central Australia—Ordinances of 1927—

No. 6—Interpretation. No. 7—Mining.

North Australia—Ordinances of 1927—

No. 6—Interpretation. No. 7—Mining.

Northern Territory Acceptance Act and Northern Australia Act-

Central Australia—Ordinance of 1927—No. 8—Surveyors. North Australia—Ordinance of 1927—No. 8—Surveyors.

5. ELECTORAL BILL (1927).—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time-Debate resumed.

Mr. Forde moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

- 6. Adjournment.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.
- And then the House, at thirteen minutes past ten o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—
Mr. Donald Cameron, Sir John Gellibrand, Mr. Gibson, Mr. Albert Green, Mr. Roland Green,
Mr. Hill, Sir Elliot Johnson, Mr. Ley, Mr. Makin, Mr. W. Maloney, Mr. Maxwell, Mr. McGrath,
Mr. Parker Moloney, Mr. Parkhill, Mr. Thomas Paterson, Mr. Rodgers, and Mr. Watt.

E. W. PARKES, Clerk-Assistant, House of Representatives.