### THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

#### No. 31.

# VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

### MONDAY, 22ND MARCH, 1926.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.— Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Sir Littleton Groom) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Member Sworn.—John Arthur Perkins, Esquire, was introduced, and made and subscribed the Oath required by law.
- 3. PAPERS.—Mr. Speaker presented, pursuant to Statute—

Commonwealth Bank Act—Commonwealth Bank of Australia— Aggregate Balance-sheet at 31st December, 1925, and Statement of the Liabilities and Assets of the Note Issue Department at 31st December, 1925; together with the Auditor-General's Reports thereon.

The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—Commonwealth Institute of Science and Industry—Recommendations by Sir Frank Heath for the Reconstitution of the Institute.

Ordered to lie on the Table.

4. WAYS AND MEANS [CUSTOMS AND EXCISE TARIFF AMENDMENT].—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Ways and Means.

### (In the Committee.)

[See Customs Tariff Amendment, which incorporates the proposed Resolution of 3rd March, 1926 (pages 72 to 87).]

Item numbered 3 debated—

Question—That the Item be agreed to—put.

The Committee divided—

ne committee aividea—	
Ayes,	40.
Mr. Aubrey Abbott	Mr. Lazzarini
Mr. Anstey	Mr. Lister
Mr. Blakeley	Mr. Marks
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Marr
Mr. Brennan	Mr. Parker Moloney
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Nott
Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. Earle Page
Mr. Charlton	Mr. Parsons
Mr. Coleman	Mr. Thomas Paterson .
Mr. Forde	Mr. Perkins
Mr. Grosvenor Francis	Mr. Pratten
Mr. Gibson	Mr. Prowse
Mr. Albert Green	Sir Granville Ryrie
Mr. Hill	Mr. Scullin
Sir Neville Howse	Mr. Stewart
Mr. Hughes	Mr. William Watson
Mr. Hurry	Mr. Yates
Mr. Jackson	
Mr. Killen	Tellers:
Mr. Lambert	Mr. Fenton
**	

#### Noes, 12.

Noes, 12.	
Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr. Mann
Mr. Duncan-Hughes	Mr. Edward Riley
Sir John Gellibrand	Mr. Rodgers
Mr. Roland Green	C
Mr. Gregory	Tellers:
Mr. Gullett	Mr. Josiah Francis
Mr. Mahony	Mr. E. C. Riley
•	•

Mr. Latham Mr. Hunter

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

F.17940.

Item numbered 6-

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Bayley reported accordingly.
Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

- 5. PAPER.—The following Paper was presented, pursuant to Statute-Norfolk Island Act—Ordinance of 1926—No. 3—Public Trust Funds Control.
- 6. ALTERATION OF DAY OF NEXT MEETING.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until to-morrow at eleven o'clock a.m. Debate ensued. Question—put and passed.
- 7. ADJOURNMENT.-Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at four minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at eleven o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Bell, Mr. Robert Cook, Mr. Gardner, Sir Elliot Johnson, Mr. Lacey, Mr. Ley, Mr. Mackay, Mr. Makin, Mr. McGrath, Mr. Seabrook, and Mr. Thompson.

> WALTER A. GALE. Clerk of the House of Representatives.