Hon Ian Macfarlane

Hon Ian Macfarlane

Former Member

Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Groom, Queensland, 1998. Re-elected 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010 and 2013. Retired prior to general elections 2016.
Ministerial appointments
  • Minister for Small Business from 30.1.2001 to 26.11.2001.
  • Minister for Industry, Tourism and Resources from 26.11.2001 to 3.12.2007.
  • Cabinet Minister from 26.11.2001 to 3.12.2007.
  • Cabinet Minister from 18.9.2013 to 21.9.2015.
  • Minister for Industry from 18.9.2013 to 23.12.2014.
  • Minister for Industry and Science from 23.12.2014 to 21.9.2015.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Parliamentary Library served from 8.12.1998 to 8.3.2001; Primary Industries and Regional Services served from 8.12.1998 to 8.3.2001; Industry, Science and Resources served from 22.6.2000 to 8.3.2001; Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government served from 3.2.2010 to 19.7.2010; Climate Change, Water, Environment and the Arts served from 10.2.2010 to 19.7.2010
  • Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade served from 11.3.2008 to 3.2.2010
  • Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit served from 13.10.2015 to 14.10.2015; Public Accounts and Audit served as Chair from 15.10.2015 to 9.5.2016
Parliamentary party positions
  • Liberal Party of Australia. Served: 03.10.1998 to 09.05.2016
  • Shadow Minister for Trade from 6.12.2007 to 22.9.2008.
  • Shadow Cabinet Minister from 6.12.2007 to 18.9.2013.
  • Shadow Minister for Energy and Resources from 22.9.2008 to 8.12.2009.
  • Shadow Minister for Infrastructure and Water from 8.12.2009 to 25.3.2010.
  • Shadow Minister for Energy and Resources from 25.3.2010 to 18.9.2013.
Other positions
  • Deputy Chair of the Presiding Officers' Information Technology Advisory Group.
  • Born: 5.4.1955, Kingaroy, Australia
  • Gender: Male
  • Marital Status: Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • Farmer.
  • President, Queensland Graingrowers Association.
  • President, Grains Council of Australia.
  • Name: Groom
  • Location: south-east Queensland, west of Brisbane; it includes the city of Toowoomba and the towns of Oakey and Pittsworth.
  • Area: 5,594 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 96,926 (at 7.9.2013)
  • Industries: agriculture, retailing, food processing, education, health and community services. Groom also includes the Army Aviation Centre in Oakey and the Army Signals Base at Cabarlah.
  • Includes: Groom includes the Queensland Legislative Assembly electorates of Toowoomba North and Toowoomba South, and parts of Condamine, Lockyer, Nanango and Warrego.
  • The role of brand equity in helping to evaluate the contribution of major events, Sustainable Tourism Cooperative Research Centre, Gold Coast, Qld: 2009.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.