Ms Rebekha Sharkie MP


Member for Mayo, South Australia

Centre Alliance
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

1/72 Gawler Street
Mt Barker, SA, 5251

Postal address

PO Box 1601
Mt Barker, SA, 5251

(08) 8398 5566

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 2113
(02) 6277 8451


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Mayo, South Australia, 2016. Resigned 11.5.2018. and Elected to the House of Representatives for Mayo, South Australia at by-election 2018, vice R Sharkie (resigned).
Committee service
  • Joint Select: Government Procurement from 16.02.2017.
  • House of Representatives Standing: Employment, Education and Training from 15.09.2016 to 10.05.2018; Employment, Education and Training from 14.08.2018; Health, Aged Care and Sport from 20.09.2018 (Supplementary member from 20.09.2018).
Party positions
  • NXT Spokesperson: employment, agriculture and youth affairs, education, family and community services, housing and youth
  • Born 1972, Devon, England.
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • B.A (American Studies and Australian Public Policy) (Flinders)
  • Paralegal, law firms in Adelaide, Queensland and Darwin
  • Legal Researcher, South Australian Shadow Attorney-General and Leader of the Opposition, Isobel Redmond
  • Part-time Adviser, State and Federal Members of Parliament
  • National Executive Officer, Youth Connections
  • Senior Manager, SYC Limited (Helping Young People Achieve division)
  • Principal Policy Advisor, Department of Social Inclusion (SA), 2015-16
  • Description: Rural
  • Location: Adelaide Hills, Fleurieu Peninsula and Kangaroo Island; it includes the country towns include Birdwood (part), Bridgewater, Crafers, Echunga, Gumeracha, Hahndorf, Langhorne Creek, Lobethal, Macclesfield, Mount Barker, Myponga, Oakbank, Stirling, Strathalbyn, Victor Harbor, Woodside and Yankalilla.
  • Area: 9315 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 103981 (at 02.07.2016)
  • Industries: dairying, beef, sheep, apples, pears, cherries, smallgoods, Kanmantoo copper mines, Jupiter Creek goldfields, forestry, natural spring water, wine, cereals, tourism and the Woodside army barracks.