Australian Parliament House is temporarily closed to the public. Read more.

Mr Ross Hart MP


Former Member

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Bass, Tasmania, 2016. Defeated at general elections, 2019.
Committee service
  • Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 15.9.2016 to 11.4.2019.
  • Joint Standing: Trade and Investment Growth from 25.10.2017 to 11.4.2019 (Deputy Chair from 9.2.2018 to 11.4.2019); Treaties from 21.5.2018 to 10.9.2018.
  • House of Representatives Standing: Appropriations and Administration from 15.9.2016 to 11.4.2019.
Party positions
  • President of the Australian Labor Party Launceston Central Branch.
  • President of the Australian Labor Party Northern Central Policy Branch.
  • President of the Australian Labor Party Tamar Branch.
  • Member of the Australian Labor Party from 2003.
  • Delegate to the Australian Labor Party State Conference (Tas.), 2007.
  • Born 4.6.1960, Launceston, Australia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • LLB (University of Tasmania).
  • Lawyer, Rae and Partners, 1984-88.
  • Partner/Director, Rae and Partners, 1988-2016.
  • Councillor, Law Society of Tasmania, 1989-2006.
  • Member, Rotary Club of Launceston, 1992-.
  • President, Law Society of Tasmania, 1993-94.
  • Director, Northern Tasmania Regional Development Board, 1993-2005.
  • Member/Delegate, Law Council of Australia, 1995-98.
  • Director, Inveresk Railyards Management Authority, 1998-2000.
  • Member, Governing Council Tasmanian Health Organisation North, 2012-15.
  • Name: Bass
  • Location: north-east Tasmania; it includes the city of Launceston and its suburbs, and the towns of Bell Bay, Bridport, George Town, Hadspen, Lilydale, Ringarooma and Scottsdale. Cape Barren Island, Clarke Island and Flinders Island are also in this division.
  • Area: 7,378 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 73,555 (at 2.7.2016)
  • Industries: aluminium and ferrous metal smelting, brewery, cattle (dairy and beef) farming, manufacturing, mining, ports and shipping, ship building, timber, tourism, fishing, wineries and wool.
  • Includes: Bass is co-extensive with the Tasmanian House of Assembly electorate of the same name.