Hon Scott Buchholz MP

Hon Scott Buchholz MP

Member for Wright

Deputy Chair of Joint Standing Committee on Trade and Investment Growth
Liberal National Party of Queensland
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

21 William Street
Beaudesert, QLD, 4285

Postal address

PO Box 628
Beaudesert, QLD, 4285

(07) 5541 0150
(07) 5541 4150

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4144


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Wright, Queensland, 2010. Re-elected 2013, 2016, 2019 and 2022.
Parliamentary positions
  • Member of the Speaker's Panel from 12.9.2016 to 31.8.2018.
  • Member of the Speaker's Panel from 28.7.2022.
Ministerial appointments
  • Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport from 28.8.2018 to 29.5.2019.
  • Assistant Minister for Road Safety and Freight Transport from 29.5.2019 to 23.5.2022.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Economics served from 25.10.2010 to 9.5.2016; Petitions served from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Procedure served from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Selection served from 4.12.2013 to 12.10.2015; Appropriations and Administration served from 13.5.2015 to 26.11.2015; House served from 14.9.2015 to 26.11.2015; Economics served from 14.9.2016 to 11.4.2019; Petitions served from 14.9.2016 to 11.4.2019; Privileges and Members' Interests served from 1.8.2022 to present; Regional Development, Infrastructure and Transport served from 1.8.2022 to present
  • Joint Standing: Electoral Matters served as Chair from 2.3.2016 to 9.5.2016; Electoral Matters served from 14.9.2016 to 1.7.2019; Trade and Investment Growth served as Deputy Chair from 1.8.2022 to present; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade served from 22.3.2023 to present
  • Joint Statutory: Public Works served from 14.9.2016 to 12.10.2018; Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity served from 14.9.2016 to 11.4.2019; Public Works served from 29.8.2018 to 1.7.2019
Parliamentary party positions
  • Liberal Party of Australia. Served: 21.08.2010 to present
  • Government Whip in the House of Representatives from 18.9.2013 to 23.2.2015.
  • Government Chief Whip in the House of Representatives from 23.2.2015 to 12.10.2015.
Party positions
  • Chair of the Liberal National Party Transition Action Committee (Qld).
  • Chair of the Liberal National Party Condamine State Electorate Council (Qld).
  • Delegate to the Nationals and Liberal National Party State Conference (Qld) from 2007 to 2010.
  • Member of the Liberal National Party Agenda Committee (Qld) from 2008 to 2009.
  • Assistant to the Liberal National Party Campaign Director (Qld), 2009.
  • Born: 27.3.1968, Rockhampton, Australia
  • Gender: Male
  • Marital Status: Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • Chief of Staff to Senator B Joyce.
  • Ringer from 1985 to 1987.
  • Agri-finance manager from 1989 to 1991.
  • Managing director from 1992.
  • Name: Wright
  • Location: The Division of Wright consists of: Lockyer Valley Regional Council, part of the Gold Coast City Council, part of the Ipswich City Council, part of the Logan City Council, part of the Scenic Rim Regional Council, and part of the Southern Downs Regional Council.
  • Area: 7,577 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 112,115 (at 7.6.2019)
  • Industries: Boutique tourism and a wide range of primary production activities.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.