Bookings to Parliament House are essential to comply with COVID-19 access requirements, including the use of the Check In CBR app for all visitors.

Hon Christian Porter MP

Hon Christian Porter MP

Member for Pearce, Western Australia

Minister for Industry, Science and Technology
Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

Unit 3, 28 Main Street
Ellenbrook, WA, 6069

Postal address

PO Box 2226
Ellenbrook, WA, 6069

(08) 6296 7255

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 7070


Parliamentary service
  • State: Elected to the Western Australian Legislative Assembly for Murdoch, 2008.
  • Federal: Elected to the House of Representatives for Pearce, Western Australia, 2013. Re-elected 2016 and 2019.
Parliamentary positions
  • Member of the Speaker's Panel from 18.11.2013 to 9.2.2015.
Ministerial appointments
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister from 23.12.2014 to 21.9.2015.
  • Minister for Social Services from 21.9.2015 to 20.12.2017.
  • Cabinet Minister from 21.9.2015.
  • Attorney-General from 20.12.2017 to 30.3.2021.
  • Minister for Industrial Relations from 29.5.2019 to 30.3.2021.
  • Minister for Industry, Science and Technology from 30.3.2021.
Committee service
  • Joint Statutory: Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity from 4.12.2013 to 12.2.2015.
  • Joint Select: Constitutional Recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples (2015) from 4.12.2013 to 11.2.2015; Australia Fund Establishment from 25.9.2014 to 25.6.2015.
  • House of Representatives Standing: Privileges and Members' Interests from 4.12.2013 to 11.2.2015; Social Policy and Legal Affairs from 4.12.2013 to 25.9.2014.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Leader of the House from 29.5.2019 to 30.3.2021.
  • Born 11.7.1970, Perth, Australia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • MSc (London School of Economics and Political Science).
  • BEc (University of Western Australia).
  • BA(Hons) (University of Western Australia).
  • LLB (University of Western Australia).
  • Lawyer from 1996 to 1999.
  • Senior Prosecutor from 2002 to 2008.
  • Lecturer at the University of Western Australia from 2006 to 2008.
State/Territory Government service
  • Elected to the Western Australian Legislative Assembly for Murdoch, 2008.
  • Shadow Attorney-General from 12.3.2008 to 7.7.2008.
  • Elected to the Western Australian Legislative Assembly for Bateman, 2008. Resigned 9.3.2013.
  • Attorney-General from 23.9.2008 to 12.6.2012.
  • Minister for Corrective Services from 23.9.2008 to 14.12.2010.
  • Treasurer from 14.12.2010 to 12.6.2012.
  • Name: Pearce
  • Location: Pearce contains all of the Shires of Beverly, Chittering, Gingin, Northam, Toodyay and York and parts of the Cities of Swan and Wanneroo. The Division includes the suburbs of Aveley, Banksia Grove, Baskerville, Brabham, Brigadoon, Bullsbrook, Carramar, Clarkson, Dayton, Ellenbrook, Henley Brook, Herne Hill, Lexia, Mariginiup, Melaleuca, Middle Swan (part), Mindarie, Morangup, Neerabup, Red Hill (part), Tamala Park, West Swan and Wundowie.
  • Area: 13,250 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 119,583 (at 11.6.2019)
  • Industries: Industries include fishing, tourism, agriculture, hospitality, retail, commercial and education. Pearce Air Base located in Bullsbrook.