Australian Parliament House is open to the public.

Ms Cathy McGowan AO

Ms Cathy McGowan AO

Former Member

House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Indi, Victoria, 2013. Re-elected 2016. Retired prior to general elections 2019.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Select: Regional Development and Decentralisation served from 13.6.2017 to 28.6.2018
  • House of Representatives Standing: Agriculture and Industry served from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Infrastructure, Transport and Cities served from 15.9.2016 to 11.4.2019
  • Joint Select: Constitutional Recognition Relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples (2018) served from 26.3.2018 to 29.11.2018
  • Joint Standing: National Broadband Network served from 10.10.2016 to 11.4.2019
  • Joint Statutory: Human Rights served from 14.5.2015 to 9.5.2016
  • Born: 29.11.1953, Albury, Australia
  • Gender: Female
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • DipEd (University of Melbourne).
  • MAppSc (University of Western Sydney).
  • BA (Monash University).
  • Teacher.
  • Legislative and research assistant to the Member for Indi, E Cameron, MP from 1980 to 1983.
  • Rural community consultant from 1984 to 1987.
  • Rural Affairs Adviser at the Department of Agriculture (Vic.) from 1987 to 1990.
  • Managing Director of Catherine McGowan Consulting from 1990 to 2013.
  • Lecturer at the University of Western Sydney from 1992 to 2003.
  • Name: Indi
  • Location: north-eastern Victoria; the main towns include main towns include Alexandra, Beechworth, Benalla, Bright, Corryong, Eildon, Kinglake, Mansfield, Marysville, Mount Beauty, Myrtleford, Rutherglen, Tallangatta, Wangaratta, Wodonga and Yea.
  • Area: 28,567 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 103,734 (at 2.7.2016)
  • Industries: tourism, forestry, wood chipping, viticulture, agriculture, timber processing and manufacturing.
  • Includes:
  • Awarded a Centenary Medal, 01.01.2001.
  • Appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia, 14.06.2004.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.