Hon John Cobb MP


Former Member

The Nationals
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Parkes, New South Wales, 2001. Re-elected 2004. Elected to the House of Representatives for Calare, New South Wales, 2007, following electoral redistribution. Re-elected 2010 and 2013. Retired prior to general elections 2016.
Parliamentary positions
  • Member, Speaker's Panel from 12.10.2015 to 09.05.2016
Ministerial appointments
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Transport and Regional Services from 26.10.2004 to 6.7.2005.
  • Minister for Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs from 6.7.2005 to 27.1.2006.
  • Minister for Community Services from 27.1.2006 to 30.1.2007.
  • Assistant Minister for Environment and Water Resources from 30.1.2007 to 3.12.2007.
Committee service
  • Joint Statutory: Native Title and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Land Fund from 20.3.2002 to 6.2.2003; Public Accounts from 20.3.2002 to 31.8.2004.
  • House of Representatives Standing: Environment and Heritage from 20.3.2002 to 31.8.2004; Publications from 20.3.2002 to 31.8.2004; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 6.2.2003 to 31.8.2004; Ageing from 4.11.2003 to 31.8.2004; Climate Change, Water, Environment and the Arts from 11.3.2008 to 3.2.2010; Environment from 9.9.2015 to 9.5.2016 (Chair from 9.9.2015 to 9.5.2016).
Parliamentary party positions
  • Member of the Opposition Shadow Ministry from 6.12.2007 to 18.9.2013.
  • Shadow Minister for Regional Development from 6.12.2007 to 22.9.2008.
  • Shadow Minister for Water Security from 6.12.2007 to 22.9.2008.
  • Shadow Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry from 22.9.2008 to 8.12.2009.
  • Shadow Minister for Agriculture, Food Security, Fisheries and Forestry from 8.12.2009 to 14.9.2010.
  • Shadow Minister for Agriculture and Food Security from 14.9.2010 to 18.9.2013.
Party positions
  • Member, Government Backbench Policy Committees on Agriculture, Fisheries, Forestry and Conservation; Environment and Heritage; Industry and Resources; Tourism, Art and Sport
  • Chair, Government Backbench Policy Committee on Foreign Affairs
  • Member, National Party from 1984
  • Born 11.2.1950, Bathurst, Australia
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • Jackaroo, overseer and manager from 1968 to 1974
  • Farmer and grazier from 1976
  • Description: Rural
  • Location: central New South Wales; it includes the centres of Bathurst, Blayney, Canowindra, Eugowra, Forbes, Lithgow, Molong, Oberon, Orange, Parkes, Peak Hill, Portland, Wallerawang and Yeoval.
  • Area: 30526 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 102038 (at 7.9.2013)
  • Industries: mining, mixed farming, fruit, timber, vineyards, meat and wool processing, transport, light engineering, manufacturing and food processing, tertiary education services, agricultural and pastoral support services.
  • Electorate: Calare includes the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorate of Orange, and parts of Bathurst.