Scrutiny of Bills (Legislative Scrutiny Standing)

1 July 2010 to 27 September 2010

Appointment

Pursuant to Senate Standing Order 24.

Current members

Senator Coonan (Chair), Senator Bishop (Deputy Chair), and Senators Cameron, Pratt, Siewert and Troeth

Former members

Senator Ellison, Senator Collins

Secretary

Phone Fax

Ms Toni Dawes (02) 6277 3050 (02) 6277 5881

Principles of the committee

The committee scrutinises bills and Acts of Parliament and reports to the Senate whether such bills or Acts, by express words or otherwise:

- trespass unduly on personal rights and liberties;
- make rights, liberties or obligations unduly dependent upon insufficiently defined administrative powers;
- make rights, liberties or obligations unduly dependent upon non-reviewable decisions;
- inappropriately delegate legislative powers; or
- insufficiently subject the exercise of legislative power to parliamentary scrutiny.

New references

1 July 2010–27 September 2010

• Nil

Alert Digests tabled

1 July 2010–27 September 2010

Nil

Reports presented

1 July 2010–27 September 2010

Nil

Meetings

1 July 2010–27 September 2010

Private: Briefings: