Corporations and Financial Services

Corporations & Financial Services 1 July 2010 - 19 July 2010

	Matters current as at 1 July 2010	Matters referred during period	Reports tabled that discharge a reference	Inquiries lapsed at 19 July 2010
Joint Statutory	2	0	0	2

				Number	and Hours of M	eting				
	Public	Hrs	Public Estimates	Hrs	Private	Hrs	Insp/Other	Hrs	Total Meetings	Total Hours
Joint Statutory	1	0:53	0	0:00	3	0:44	0	0:00	4	1:37

				Meetings By S	tate			
	ACT	NS W	VIC	TAS	SA	WA	NT	QLD
Joint Statutory	4	0	0	0	0	0	0	0

_			Witnesses		Har	sard Pages				
	Televised Hearings	Estimates	Other (Bills)	General	Estimates	Other (Bills)	General	No of Submissions	No Of Pages	Government Responses
Joint Statutory	1	0	0	3	0	0	31	1	3	0

Corporations and Financial Services (Joint Statutory)

1 July 2010 to 19 July 2010

Method of appointment

Pursuant to section 241 of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission Act 2001; appointed 14 February 2008

Current members	Date of appointment
Mr Bernie Ripoll, MP (Oxley, QLD, ALP)	11.03.08
(elected Chair on 12.03.08)	
Senator the Hon Brett Mason (QLD, LP)	15.10.08
(elected Deputy Chair on 17.10.08)	
Senator Sue Boyce (QLD, LP)	14.02.08
Senator Don Farrell (SA, ALP)	16.03.09
Senator the Hon Jan McLucas (QLD, ALP)	24.06.09
Ms Sharon Grierson, MP (Newcastle, NSW, ALP)	11.03.08
Mr Luke Hartsuyker, MP (Cowper, NSW, NATS)	22.02.10
Ms Julie Owens, MP (Parramatta, NSW, ALP)	11.03.08
Mr Stuart Robert, MP (Fadden, QLD, LP)	12.03.08
Former members	Term of appointment
Former members Senator Mark Arbib (NSW, ALP)	Term of appointment 01.07.08–10.03.09
	• • •
Senator Mark Arbib (NSW, ALP)	01.07.08–10.03.09
Senator Mark Arbib (NSW, ALP) Senator Grant Chapman (SA, LP)	01.07.08–10.03.09 14.02.08–30.06.08
Senator Mark Arbib (NSW, ALP) Senator Grant Chapman (SA, LP) Senator the Hon Helen Coonan (NSW, LP)	01.07.08–10.03.09 14.02.08–30.06.08 01.07.08–13.10.08
Senator Mark Arbib (NSW, ALP) Senator Grant Chapman (SA, LP) Senator the Hon Helen Coonan (NSW, LP) Senator Linda Kirk (SA, ALP)	01.07.08–10.03.09 14.02.08–30.06.08 01.07.08–13.10.08 14.02.08–30.06.08
Senator Mark Arbib (NSW, ALP) Senator Grant Chapman (SA, LP) Senator the Hon Helen Coonan (NSW, LP) Senator Linda Kirk (SA, ALP) Senator Gavin Marshall (VIC, ALP) Senator Andrew Murray (WA, AD)	01.07.08–10.03.09 14.02.08–30.06.08 01.07.08–13.10.08 14.02.08–30.06.08 01.07.08–24.06.09
Senator Mark Arbib (NSW, ALP) Senator Grant Chapman (SA, LP) Senator the Hon Helen Coonan (NSW, LP) Senator Linda Kirk (SA, ALP) Senator Gavin Marshall (VIC, ALP)	01.07.08–10.03.09 14.02.08–30.06.08 01.07.08–13.10.08 14.02.08–30.06.08 01.07.08–24.06.09 14.02.08–30.06.08
Senator Mark Arbib (NSW, ALP) Senator Grant Chapman (SA, LP) Senator the Hon Helen Coonan (NSW, LP) Senator Linda Kirk (SA, ALP) Senator Gavin Marshall (VIC, ALP) Senator Andrew Murray (WA, AD) Senator Ruth Webber (WA, ALP)	01.07.08–10.03.09 14.02.08–30.06.08 01.07.08–13.10.08 14.02.08–30.06.08 01.07.08–24.06.09 14.02.08–30.06.08 14.02.08–30.06.08

Inquiries

As at 1 July 2010

• Oversight of the operations of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (continuing)

• Examination of annual reports of ASIC Act bodies (continuing)

For the duration of the committee's inquiry into financial products and services in Australia.

Inquiries lapsedAs at 19 July 2010

- Oversight of the operations of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (continuing)
- Examination of annual reports of ASIC Act bodies (continuing)

New references

1 July 2010–19 July 2010

Nil

Public hearings

1 July 2010–19 July 2010

Nil

Reports tabled

1 July 2010–19 July 2010

Nil

Government responses

1 July 2010–19 July 2010

Nil