Procedure (Standing)

1 July 2009 to 31 December 2009

Appointment

Pursuant to Senate Standing Order 17.

Current members

The Deputy President (Senator the Hon A Ferguson) (Chair), the President (Senator the Hon J Hogg), the Leader of the Government in the Senate (Senator the Hon C Evans), the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate (Senator the Hon N Minchin), and Senators Abetz, Bob Brown, Faulkner, Hurley, Ludwig and Parry

(02) 6277 3364

Fax

(02) 6277 3199

Phone

Secretary

Mr Harry Evans (*until 4.12.09*) Dr Rosemary Laing (*effective 5.12.09*)

Current inquiry

1 July 2009–31 December 2009

- Restructure of Question Time
- Review of the operation of the order of the Senate agreed to on 13 May 2009 relating to committee proceedings and public interest immunity claims
- Proposed amendment to standing order 175(3) in relation to a senator caring for an infant
- Proposed deferral of bills reliant on delegated legislation pending the tabling of the draft delegated legislation
- Proposals for consideration of private senators' bills
- Declaration by senators of contact with witnesses prior to committee hearings

Reports presented

1 July 2009–31 December 2009

- Third report, August 2009: Committee proceedings and public interest immunity claims: order of the Senate of 13 May 2009; Senators caring for an infant: standing order 175
- Fourth report, November 2009: Rules for question time; Public interest immunity claims: operation of the order of the Senate of 13 May 2009

Other Committees

Meetings 1 July 2009–31 December 2009

2 Private: Public: 0 In camera: 0 Inspections:0Briefings:0Total:2