Intelligence and Security (Joint Statutory)

1 July 2007 to 17 October 2007

Appointment

Pursuant to Intelligence Services Act 2001; amended by the Intelligence Services Legislation Amendment Act 2005 on 2 December 2005

Members

The Hon David Jull MP (Presiding Member)

Mr Anthony Byrne MP (Deputy Chair)

Senator Alan Ferguson, Senator Julian McGauran (till 28 March 2006), Senator the Hon Robert Ray, Senator the Hon John Faulkner (appointed 9 December 2005), Senator Fiona Nash (appointed 9 May 2006);

Mr Stewart McArthur MP; The Hon Duncan Kerr SC MP; and Mr Stephen Ciobo MP (appointed 8 December 2005)

Secretary

	Phone (02)	Fax (02)
Mr Stephen Boyd	6277 4348	6277 2067

Reports presented

1 July 2007 – 31 December 2007

- Review of Administration and Expenditure: Australian Intelligence Organisations – No. 5 (tabled 13 August 2007)
- Annual Report of Committee Activities 2006-2007 (tabled 13 August 2007)
- Review of the re-listing of Hizballah's External Security Organisation (ESO) as a terrorist organisation under the *Criminal Code Act 1995* (tabled 15 August 2007)
- Inquiry into the Terrorist Organisation Listing Provisions of the *Criminal Code Act 1995* (tabled 20 September 2007)
- Review of the re-listing of the Palestinian Islamic Jihad (PIJ), Lashkar-e-Tayibba (LeT) and the Hamas' Izz al-Din al-Qassam Brigades as terrorist organisations under the *Criminal Code Act 1995* (tabled 27 September 2007)

Meetings

1 July 2007 – 31 December 2007

Private (meetings)	5
(e)	
Public (hearings)	0
In camera (hearings)	0
Inspections	1
Briefings	2*
Total	6
*not counted	