Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade (Joint)

1 January 2012 to 30 June 2012

Appointment

Pursuant to Resolution of the House of Representatives of 29 September 2010 and agreed to by the Senate on 30 September 2010.

Current members

Mr Danby MP (Chair), Mrs Gash MP (Deputy Chair), and Senators Bishop, Fawcett, Furner, Hanson-Young, Johnston, Ludlam, Macdonald, McEwen, Moore, Parry, Payne, Stephens, and The Hon D Adams MP, The Hon J Bishop MP, Ms Brodtmann MP, Mr Champion MP, The Hon L Ferguson MP, The Hon J Fitzgibbon MP, The Hon A Griffin MP, Mr Jenkins MP, Dr Jensen MP, The Hon R McClelland MP, Mrs Mirabella MP, The Hon J Murphy MP, Mr O'Dowd MP, Ms Parke MP, Mr Robert MP, The Hon P Ruddock MP, Ms Saffin MP, The Hon B Scott MP, The Hon Dr Stone MP and Ms Vamvakinou MP

Former members

The Hon A Byrne MP and Mr Gibbons MP

Secretary

Mr Jerome Brown	Phone: (02) 6277 4629
-----------------	-----------------------

Current inquiries 1 January 2012–30 June 2012	Inquiry into Australia's Human Rights Dialogues with China and Vietnam Inquiry into Australia's trade and investment relationshi with Japan and the Republic of Korea Inquiry into Australia's Overseas Representation Review of the Defence Annual Report 2010–11	
	Inquiry into the Care of ADF Personnel Wounded and Injured on Operations	
Reports presented <i>1 January 2012–30 June 2012</i>	Review of the Defence Annual Report 2009–10 (tabled 27.02.2012) Visit to the Middle East Area of Operations—Report of the delegation to the MEAO, 14 May to 18 May 2011 (tabled 19.03.2012) Inquiry into Illegal Logging Prohibition Bill 2011 (tabled 28.06.2012)	
Government responses 1 January 2012–30 June 2012	Human rights in the Asia-Pacific: Challenges and opportunities (tabled 09.02.2012) Inquiry into Australia's relationship with the countries of Africa (tabled 22.03.2012) Review of the Defence Annual Report 2009–10 (tabled 24.05.2012)	

Other Committees

Meetings 1 January 2012–30 June 2012	Private: Public Hearings: Briefings: Total:	39 17 46 72*
--	--	-----------------------

* Private and briefings meetings are often combined

Secretaries of Sub-Committees

Dr John Carter (Foreign Affairs Sub-Committee)	(02) 6277 4306
Ms Julia Searle (Trade Sub-Committee)	(02) 6277 4586
Mr Jerome Brown (Defence Sub-Committee)	(02) 6277 4629
Mr Paul Zinkel (Human Rights Sub-Committee)	(02) 6277 4628