National Broadband Network

1 January 2009 - 30 June 2009

	Matters current as at 1 January 2009	Matters referred during period	Reports tabled that discharge a reference **	Current inquiries as at 30 June 2009	
Select	1	0	0+(1)	1	

	Number and Hours of Meeting									
	Public	Hrs	Public Estimates	Hrs	Private	Hrs	Insp/Other	Hrs	Total Meetings	Total Hours
Select Committee	2	15:05	0	0:00	6	1:51	0	0:00	8	16:56

222

	Meetings By State									
	ACT NSW VIC TAS SA WA NT QLD									
Select Committee	6	2	0	0	0	0	0	0		

		Witnesses			Hansard Pages					
	Televised Hearings	Estimates	Other (Bills)	General	Estimates	Other (Bills)	General	No of Submissions	No Of Pages	Government Responses
Select Committe	e 1	0	0	26	0	0	169	17	722	0

** includes 1 Interim Report

Select Committee on National Broadband Network

1 January 2009 to 30 June 2009

Method of appointment

Pursuant to resolution agreed to by the Senate on 25 June 2008.

Current members	Date of appointment
Senator Mary Jo Fisher (SA, LP) (elected Chair on 26.06.08)	26.06.08
Senator Fiona Nash (NSW, NATS) (elected Deputy Chair on 25.09.08)	26.06.08
Senator Simon Birmingham (SA, LP) (Deputy Chair 26.06.08–25.09.08)	26.06.08
Senator Scott Ludlam (WA, AG)	10.02.09
Senator Kate Lundy (ACT, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator the Hon Ian Macdonald (QLD, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Glenn Sterle (WA, ALP)	01.07.08
Participating members	Date of appointment
Senator the Hon Eric Abetz (TAS, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Judith Adams (WA, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Chris Back (WA, LP)	12.03.09
Senator Guy Barnett (TAS, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Cory Bernardi (SA, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Catryna Bilyk (TAS, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator Mark Bishop (WA, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator the Hon Ronald Boswell (QLD, NATS)	26.06.08
Senator Sue Boyce (QLD, LP)	26.06.08
Senator the Hon George Brandis (QLD, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Carol Brown (TAS, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator David Bushby (TAS, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Doug Cameron (NSW, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator Michaelia Cash (WA, LP)	01.07.08
Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck (TAS, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Jacinta Collins (VIC, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator the Hon Helen Coonan (NSW, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Mathias Cormann (WA, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Trish Crossin (NT, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator Alan Eggleston (WA, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Don Farrell (SA, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator David Feeney (VIC, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator the Hon Alan Ferguson (SA, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Steve Fielding (VIC, FFP)	26.08.08

	00000
Senator Concetta Fierravanti-Wells (NSW, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Mitch Fifield (VIC, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Michael Forshaw (NSW, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator Mark Furner (QLD, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator the Hon Bill Heffernan (NSW, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Gary Humphries (ACT, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Annette Hurley (SA, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator Steve Hutchins (NSW, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator the Hon David Johnston (WA, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Barnaby Joyce (QLD, NATS)	26.06.08
Senator Helen Kroger (VIC, LP)	01.07.08
Senator Gavin Marshall (VIC, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator the Hon Brett Mason (QLD, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Anne McEwen (SA, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator Julian McGauran (VIC, LP)	26.06.08
Senator the Hon Jan McLucas (QLD, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator the Hon Nicholas Minchin (SA, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Claire Moore (QLD, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator Kerry O'Brien (TAS, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator Stephen Parry (TAS, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Marise Payne (NSW, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Helen Polley (TAS, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator Louise Pratt (WA, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator the Hon Michael Ronaldson (VIC, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Scott Ryan (VIC, LP)	01.07.08
Senator the Hon Nigel Scullion (NT, CLP)	26.06.08
Senator the Hon Ursula Stephens (NSW, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator the Hon Judith Troeth (VIC, LP)	26.06.08
Senator Russell Trood (QLD, LP)	26.06.08
Senator John Williams (NSW, NATS)	01.07.08
Senator Dana Wortley (SA, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator Nick Xenophon (SA, IND)	01.07.08
	01.07.00

Former participating members

Senator Mark Arbib (NSW, ALP) Senator the Hon Christopher Ellison (WA, LP) Senator John Hogg (QLD, ALP) Senator Scott Ludlam (WA, AG) Term of appointment

01.07.08-10.03.09 26.06.08-30.01.09 01.07.08-26.08.08 01.07.08-10.02.09

Inquiry

As at 1 January 2009

(a) The Government's proposal to partner with the private sector to upgrade parts of the existing network to fibre to provide minimum broadband speeds of 12 megabits per second to 98 per cent of Australians on an open access basis; and

- (b) The implications of the proposed National Broadband Network (NBN) for consumers in terms of:
 - (i) service availability, choice and costs
 - (ii) competition in telecommunications and broadband services, and
 - (iii) likely consequences for national productivity, investment, economic growth, cost of living and social capital.

Current inquiry

As at 30 June 2009

- (a) The Government's decision to establish a company to build and operate a National Broadband Network (NBN) to:
 - (i) connect 90 per cent of all Australian homes, schools and workplaces with optical fibre to the premise (FTTP) to enable broadband services with speeds of 100 megabits per second;
 - (ii) connect all other premises in Australia with next generation wireless and satellite technologies to deliver broadband speeds of 12 megabits per second or more;
 - (iii) directly support up to 25,000 local jobs every year, on average, over the eight year life of the project.
 - (b) The implications of the NBN for consumers and taxpayers in terms of:
 - (i) service availability, choice and costs,
 - (ii) competition in telecommunications and broadband services, and
 - (iii) likely consequences for national productivity, investment, economic growth, cost of living and social capital.

Terms of reference varied 14 May 2009

Public hearings

1 January 2009–30 June 2009

• 3 March 2009, Sydney; 4 March 2009, Canberra

Reports tabled

1 January 2009–30 June 2009

• Another fork in the road to national broadband—Second Interim Report (tabled 12 May 2009)

Government responses

1 January 2009–30 June 2009

• Nil