Public Accounts and Audit (Joint Statutory)

1 January 2007 to 30 June 2007

Appointment

Pursuant to Public Accounts and Audit Committee Act 1951.

Committee name

Joint Statutory Committee of Public Accounts and Audit

Membership

Members Senators

Mr Phil Barresi (from/elected Chair, 6.2.07)

Ms Sharon Grierson MP (Deputy-Chair)

Hon Bronwyn Bishop MP Mr Russell Broadbent MP Dr Craig Emerson MP

Dr Dennis Jensen MP (from 29 May 2006)

Hon Jackie Kelly MP Ms Catherine King MP Mr Andrew Laming MP Mr Lindsay Tanner MP

Former members

Mr Tony Smith MP (to 6.2.07)(Chair) (to 6.2.07)

Hon Alex Somlyay (to 12.8.05) Senator Nigel Scullion (to 7.9.05)

Ms Jackie Burke (to 12.9.05)

Mr Bob Baldwin MP (Chairman to 7.2.06)

Senator Claire Moore (to 11.5.06)

Mr Ken Ticehurst MP (to 29.5.06)

Senator Fiona Nash (to 23.3.07)

Senator Mark Bishop (from 11 May 2006)

Senator John Hogg

Senator Gary Humphries Senator Andrew Murray

Senator Grant Chapman

(from 23.3.07)

Senator John Watson

Current inquiries

1 January 2007 - 30 June 2007

- Certain Taxation Matter
- Reforms to financial reporting and equipment acquisition at Defence & DMO
- Review of Auditor-General's Reports Nos. 1 to 20 (06/07)
- Review of Auditor-General's Reports Nos. 7 to 34 (05/06)
- Review of Auditor-General's Reports Nos. 35 to 52 (05/06)
- Review of Auditor-General's Reports Nos. 43 (04/05) to 52 (05/06)

Reports presented

1 January 2007 – 30 June 2007

• Nil

Document presented

• Draft budget estimates for the Australian National Audit Office for 2007-2008

Statement by Senator John Watson (presented 11May07)

Government responses received

1 January 2007 – 30 June 2007

- Report No. 407 Review of Auditor-General's Reports tabled between 18 January and 18 April 2005 (March07)
- Report 372 Corporate Governance and accountability arrangements for Commonwealth government business enterprises (23May07)

Meetings/hours

1 January 2007 – 30 June 2007

Full committee: 10hrs 30mins Sectional committees: 10hrs

Total hours: 20hrs 30mins