Committees administered by the Senate Committee Office

Introduction

During the reporting period, the Senate Committee Office provided staffing and resources for the following committees:

- Legislative and General Purpose Standing Committees; and
- Specific Joint Statutory Committees

Legislative and General Purpose Standing Committees

On 11 September 2006 Senate committees were restructured. The new committees will continue the work of the previous legislation and references committees for the same portfolio responsibilities. The committees have an expanded membership of eight. Particulars of each committee can be found at the relevant web page.

The Legislative and General Purpose Standing Committees and the relevant portfolio/subject areas allocated to them are as follows:

<u>Community Affairs</u> Health and Ageing

Families, Community Services and

Indigenous Affairs

<u>Economics</u> Treasury

Industry, Tourism and Resources

Employment, Workplace Relations

and Education

Education, Science and Training Employment and Workplace Relations

Environment, Communications, Environment and Water Resources Information Technology and the Arts Communications, Information

Technology and the Arts

Finance and Public Administration Parliament

Prime Minister and Cabinet Finance and Administration

Human Services

Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade Foreign Affairs and Trade

Defence (including Veterans' Affairs)

<u>Legal and Constitutional Affairs</u> Attorney-General

Immigration and Citizenship

Rural and Regional Affairs and Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

<u>Transport</u> Transport and Regional Services

Joint Statutory Committees

During the reporting period, the Senate Committee Office also administered three Joint Statutory Committees comprising members of the House of Representatives and Senators. These are:

- Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity
- Australian Crime Commission; and
- Corporations and Financial Services