Selection of Bills Committee - Report No. 8 for 2019


Senator Dean Smith (Government Whip, Chair)
Senator Perin Davey (The Nationals Whip)
Senator Stirling Griff (Centre Alliance Whip)
Senator Pauline Hanson (Pauline Hanson's One Nation Whip)
Senator Rachel Siewert (Australian Greens Whip)
Senator Anne Urquhart (Opposition Whip)
Senator Cory Bernardi
Senator Raff Ciccone
Senator Katy Gallagher
Senator the Hon James McGrath
Senator the Hon Anne Ruston

Secretary: Rachel Callinan
(6277 3020)


REPORT NO. 8 OF 2019

Amended in the chamber on Thursday, 14 November 2019

  1. The committee met in private session on Wednesday, 13 November 2019 at 7.37pm.
  2. The committee recommends that—
    1. the provisions of the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorism Financing and Other Legislation Amendment Bill 2019 be referred immediately to the Legal and Constitutional Affairs Legislation Committee for inquiry and report by 7 February 2020 (see appendix 1 for a statement of reasons for referral); and
    2. the provisions of the Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority Amendment (Sport Integrity Australia) Bill 2019 be referred immediately to the Community Affairs Legislation Committee for inquiry and report by 3 February 2020 (see appendix 2 for a statement of reasons for referral); and
    3. the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Amendment (Tax Transparency in Procurement and Grants) Bill 2019 be referred immediately to the Finance and Public Administration Legislation Committee for inquiry and report by 19 March 2020 (see appendix 3 for a statement of reasons for referral).
  3. The committee recommends that the following bills not be referred to committees:
    • Aged Care Legislation Amendment (New Commissioner Functions) Bill 2019
    • Communications Legislation Amendment (Deregulation and Other Measures) Bill 2019
    • Education Legislation Amendment (2019 Measures No. 1) Bill 2019
    • Fair Work Amendment (Restoring Penalty Rates) Bill 2018 [No. 2]
    • Productivity Commission Amendment (Addressing Inequality) Bill 2017.
  4. The committee deferred consideration of the following bills to its next meeting:
    • Air Services Amendment Bill 2018
    • Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority Amendment (Enhancing Australia’s Anti-Doping Capability) Bill 2019
    • Constitution Alteration (Freedom of Expression and Freedom of the Press) 2019
    • Customs Amendment (Safer Cladding) Bill 2019
    • Discrimination Free Schools Bill 2018
    • Family Law (Self-Assessment) Bill 2019
    • Governor-General Amendment (Cessation of Allowances in the Public Interest) Bill 2019
    • Great Australian Bight Environment Protection Bill 2019
    • Health Legislation Amendment (Data-matching and Other Matters) Bill 2019
    • Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Amendment (Single Treatment Pathway) Bill 2019
    • National Integrity (Parliamentary Standards) Bill 2019
    • Official Development Assistance Multilateral Replenishment Obligations (Special Appropriation) Bill 2019
    • Regional Forest Agreements Legislation (Repeal) Bill 2017
    • Social Services Legislation Amendment (Better Targeting Student Payments) Bill 2019
    • Social Services Legislation Amendment (Ending the Poverty Trap) Bill 2018
    • Social Services Legislation Amendment (Payment Integrity) Bill 2019
    • Telecommunications Legislation Amendment (Unsolicited Communications) Bill 2019
    • Transport Security Amendment (Serious Crime) Bill 2019
    • Treasury Laws Amendment (Reducing Pressure on Housing Affordability Measures) Bill 2019
      Foreign Acquisitions and Takeovers Fees Imposition Amendment (Near-new Dwelling Interests) Bill 2019.
  5. The committee considered the following bills but was unable to reach agreement:
    • Australian Citizenship Amendment (Citizenship Cessation) Bill 2019 (see appendix 4 for a statement of reasons for referral)

(Dean Smith)
14 November 2019

Amendment is available in the PDF version of this document