Public hearing - Canberra, Monday 14 December 2009

Inquiry into The possible impacts and consequences for public health, trade and agriculture of the Government’s decision to relax import restrictions on beef

Public hearing - Canberra, Monday 14 December 2009

8:30am – 3:45pm
Committee Room 2S3 – Parliament House



Sub No.

8:30am – 9:15am

Australian Beef Association
Mr Brad Bellinger, Chairman
Mr John Carter, Director


9:15am – 10:00am

Australian Meat Industry Council
Mr Gary Burridge, Chairman Processor Council and RMAC Director (Via Teleconference)


10:00am – 10:15am

Morning tea


10:15am – 11:45am

Red Meat Advisory Council
Mr Ian McIvor, AM, Chairman RMAC
Mr Justin Toohey, Secretary, RMAC

Mr John Dorian, Veterinary Counsel, AMIC
Mr Stephen Martyn, National Director, Processing, AMIC

Mr Greg Brown, Director, RMAC
CCA (name to be confirmed)

Mr Jim Cudmore, Director, RMAC
Mr Dougal Gordon, Executive Director, ALFA

Meat and Livestock Australia
Mr David Palmer, Managing Director


11:45am – 12:30pm

Dr Bob Steel
Veterinary Surgeon


12:30pm – 1:45pm

Lunch Break


1:45pm – 3:45pm

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (including Biosecurity Services Group)
Mr Paul Morris, Executive Manager, Trade and Market Access
Ms Narelle Clegg, General Manager, Residues and Food Safety
Dr Andy Carroll, Chief Veterinary Officer
Dr Bob Biddle, General Manager, Animal Health Programs

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Mr Tim Yeend, First Assistant Secretary, Office of Trade Negotiations
Ms Caroline McCarthy, Director, Food Trade and Quarantine Section, Office of Trade Negotiations
Ms Julia O'Brien, Executive Officer, WTO Trade Law Branch, Office of Trade Negotiations

Department of Health and Ageing (including Food Standards Australia New Zealand)
Professor Jim Bishop, Chief Medical Officer
Professor John Mathews, (Via Teleconference) Consultant engaged to undertake the Review of Scientific Evidence to Inform Australia's Policy on Transmissible Spongiform Encephalopathies (TSEs)
Ms Mary McDonald, First Assistant Secretary, Regulatory Policy and Governance Division
Ms Kylie Jonasson, Assistant Secretary, Research, Regulation and Food Branch
Mr Andrew Bartholomaeus, General Manager, Risk Management, Food Standards Australia New Zealand
Ms Amanda Hill, Manager, Food Safety, Food Standards Australia New Zealand
Mr Steve McCutcheon, Chief Executive Officer, Food Standards Australia New Zealand







Adjournment of Hearing


For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3511
Fax: +61 2 6277 5811