Australian Parliament House closed to visitors - the public main entrance will be closed indefinitely from 5pm 25 March 2020. Read more.

Terms of Reference

On 23 July 2019, the Senate moved that the Senate Select Committee on the Multi-Jurisdictional Management and Execution of the Murray Darling Basin Plan be established to inquire and report on the following matters by 1 November 2020:
responsibilities in relation to the management and execution of the Murray Darling Basin Plan consistent with the objects of the Water Act 2007, in particular:
Commonwealth responsibilities,
state and territory responsibilities, and
areas of uncertainty or potential conflict in respect of responsibilities;
the effects, positive or negative or otherwise, of the different approaches of the states and territories to water resource management in the Murray Darling Basin including, but not limited to:
legislation, regulations and rules,
management and administration, including differences in management organisations,
measuring, monitoring and compliance,
enforcement, and
openness and transparency;
complications in respect of basin-wide or cross jurisdiction oversight, including the oversight roles and jurisdictional limitations of:
state, territory and federal parliaments,
state, territory and federal courts, and
state, territory and federally-instituted inquiries and Royal Commissions;
any bill related to the Murray Darling Basin referred to the committee; and
any related matters.

 |  Contents  |