Legal and Constitutional Affairs Legislation Committee

PUBLIC HEARING Committee Room 2R1 Parliament House Canberra

Friday, 10 August 2012 9.00am – 4.30pm

PROGRAM

Privacy Amendment (Enhancing Privacy Protection) Bill 2012	
9.00am – 9.30am	Attorney-General's Department
	(to provide an overview of the bill)
	Mr Richard Glenn, Assistant Secretary, Business and Information Law Branch
	Mr Sam Ahlin, Principal Legal Officer, Business and Information Law Branch
9.30am – 10.00am	Office of the Australian Information Commissioner (Submission 47) (via teleconference)
	Mr Timothy Pilgrim, Australian Privacy Commissioner
	Ms Angelene Falk, Director Policy
10.00am – 11.00am	Australian Bankers' Association (Submission 24)
	Mr Steven Münchenberg, Chief Executive Officer
	ANZ Bank (Submission 29)
	Mrs Sue Jeffery, Acting General Manager, Australia Operations
	Ms Jane Nash, Head of Financial Inclusion
	Australasian Retail Credit Association (Submission 27)
	Mr Damian Paull, Chief Executive Officer
	Mr Matt Gijselman, Chief Industry Advisor
	Communications Alliance (Submission 30) (via teleconference)
	Mr John Stanton, Chief Executive Officer
11.00am – 11.10am	Break

Legal and Constitutional Affairs Legislation Committee

11.10am – 12.10pm	Veda (Submission 41)
	Mr Matthew Strassberg, Senior Adviser External Relations
	Mr David Grafton, Executive General Manager, Credit & Marketing Solutions Group
	Professor Les McCrimmon (+ Joint
	Dun & Bradstreet (no individual submission) Submission
	Mr Steven Brown, Director, Consumer Risk Solutions 44)
	Experian Australia Credit Services (Submission 35)
	Ms Kim Jenkins, Managing Director, Australia and New Zealand
	Ms Sharon Booth, Head of Compliance, Australia and New Zealand
12.10pm – 12.55pm	Consumer Credit Legal Centre (NSW) (Submission 51)
	Ms Katherine Lane, Principal Solicitor
	Financial Ombudsman Service (Submission 12) (via teleconference)
	Mr Philip Field, Ombudsman, Banking and Finance
	Mr David Niven, Legal Counsel
12.55pm – 1.40pm	Lunch break
1.40pm – 2.20pm	Australian Direct Marketing Association (Submission 7)
	Ms Jodie Sangster, Chief Executive Officer
	Facebook, Google, IAB Australia and Yahoo!7 (Submission 39)
	Ms Samantha Yorke, Director of Regulatory Affairs, IAB Australia
2.20 pm - 3.05 pm	Law Council of Australia (Submission 14)
	Mr Nick Parmeter, Manager, Civil Justice Division (via teleconference)
	Ms Olga Ganopolsky, Chair, Business Law Section Privacy Committee
	Law Institute of Victoria (Submission 8) (via teleconference)
	Ms Katie Miller, Council Member
3.05pm - 3.10pm	Break
3.10pm – 3.50pm	Australian Privacy Foundation (Submission 49)
	Professor Graham Greenleaf, Board Member
	Mr Nigel Waters, Board Member
	Consumer Action Law Centre (Submission 5) (via teleconference)
	Ms Carolyn Bond, Co-Chief Executive Officer
3.50pm – 4.30pm	Attorney-General's Department (no submission)
	Mr Richard Glenn, Assistant Secretary, Business and Information Law Branch
	Mr Sam Ahlin, Principal Legal Officer, Business and Information Law Branch