Public Hearing - Canberra, Wednesday 30 March 2011

Commonwealth Commissioner for Children and Young People Bill 2010

Public Hearing - Canberra, Wednesday 30 March 2011

Committee Room 2S3
Parliament House

9.00 am – 1.00 pm

Time Witness

9.00am – 9.30am

Secretariat of National Aboriginal and Islander Child Care (SNAICC) (Submission 53) – via teleconference
Mr Frank Hytten, Chief Executive Officer

9.30am – 10.00am

Save the Children Australia (Submission 57)
Ms Anna Schulze, Director Policy, Research and Advocacy
Ms Nicole Cardinal, Policy Research and Advocacy Advisor

10.00am – 10.30am

Child Abuse Prevention Research Australia (Monash University) (Submission 35) – via teleconference
Adjunct-Professor Chris Goddard, Researcher
Dr Rebecca Newton, Research Associate

10.30am – 11.00am

ChilOut - Children Out of Immigration Detention (Submission 63)
Ms Kate Gauthier, Chair
Mr David Manne, Principal Lawyer, Refugee and Immigration Legal Centre

11.00am – 11.15am

Morning tea

11.15am – 12.00pm

Australian Human Rights Commission (AHRC) (Submission 50) – via teleconference
The Hon. Catherine Branson QC, President and Human Rights Commissioner

12.00pm – 1.00pm

Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC) (Submission 89)
Dr Wendy Southern PSM, Deputy Secretary
Ms Kate Pope, Principal Advisor CSM and First Assistant Secretary Community Detention Implementation
Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs (FaHCSIA)
Ms Cate McKenzie, Group Manager, Women and Children's Policy
Ms Karen Wilson, Branch Manager, Children's Policy
Attorney-General's Department
Dr John Boersig, Assistant Secretary, Human Rights Branch

Chair: Senator Trish Crossin; Deputy Chair: Senator Guy Barnett; Secretary: Christine McDonald

For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Finance and Public Administration
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600