

#### THE SENATE

# SENATE FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE

### **PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM**

## Inquiry into matters relating to the Torres Strait region

## Friday, 18 June 2010 Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, CANBERRA

9.00– 9.40am	Torres Strait Island Regional Council (via videoconference) Mr Fred Gela, Mayor Mr Rodney John Scarce, CEO	Submission 9
9.40– 10.20am	Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade  Ms Jennifer Rawson, First Assistant Secretary, Pacific Division  Mr Brett Young, Torres Strait Treaty Liaison Officer  Mr Jeremy Bruer, Assistant Secretary, PNG and Fiji Branch  Mr Todd Quinn, Executive Officer, Sea Law, Environment Law & Antarctic section, International Legal Branch  Dr Greg French, Assistant Secretary, International Legal Branch	Submission 23  Submission 16
	Department of Immigration and Citizenship  Mr Stephen Allen, Assistant Secretary, Border Security Division  Mr Andrew Heath, Regional Manager, Torres Strait	Cubinission 10
10.20– 10.30am	Morning tea	
10.30– 11.10am	Department of Health and Ageing Ms Tarja Saastamoinen, Assistant Secretary, Family Health & Wellbeing Branch, Office for Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Health Ms Fay Holden, Assistant Secretary, Health Protection Policy Branch, Office of Health Protection Ms Jennifer Bryant, First Assistant Secretary, Office for Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Health	Submission 11

11.10am-	Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry	Submission 13
12.00pm	Dr Andrew Gerard Carroll, Chief Veterinary Officer, DAFF	
	Mr Craig Stuart Burns, Executive Manager, Trade & Market Access Division	
	Mrs Lois Ransom, Chief Plant Protection Officer	
	Mr Roland Pittar, General Manager, Fisheries	
	Mr Malcolm Southwell, Senior Manager, Northern Fisheries, Australian Fisheries Management Authority (AFMA)	
	Ms Samantha Emerick, Senior Management Officer Torres Strait Fisheries, AFMA	
	Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts	Submission 24
	Mr John McDougall, Policy Officer, International Section	
	Mr Mark Flanigan, First Assistant Secretary, Land & Coasts Division	
	Mr Nigel Routh, Assistant Secretary, Marine Biodiversity Policy Branch, Marine Division	
	Mr Shaun Barclay, A/g Director, Indigenous Partnerships	
	Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency	
	Dr John Higgins, Director, Adaptation Policy Team, Adaptation Innovation Branch	No submission
12.00-	Mr Kevin Michael Murphy	Submission 15
12.40pm	Dr Garrick Hitchcock	Submission 30
	Dr David Russell Lawrence	No submission
12.40- 1.15pm	Mr Peter Sawabarri, Masaingle Association Incorporation	Submission 8
	Preston Law	
	Mr Peter Pena, Principle	
	Mr Paul Buie, Agent/Facilitator	
	Mr David Kempton, Solicitor	
	Mr Andrew Kerr, Consultant (via telephone)	