Public hearing - Canberra, 6 November 2006

Inquiry into the provisions of the Australian Participants in British Nuclear Tests (Treatment) Bill 2006; and, the Australian Participants in British Nuclear Tests (Treatment) (Consequential Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Bill 2006

Public hearing - Canberra, 6 November 2006

Committee Room 2R1, Parliament House

10.00am – 10.40am

Dr Jack Lonergan OBE (Submission 1 and 1a)
Major Alan Batchelor MBE (ret'd) (Submission 2 and 2a)
Ms Ann Munslow-Davies – via teleconference (Submission 28)

10.40am – 11.20am

Mr Ric Johnstone, National President
Australian Nuclear Veterans' Association (Submission 3)

Mr Harry Adams, National President
Regular Defence Force Welfare Association (Submission 20)

Mr Ray Brown, National President
Injured Service Persons Association (Submission 26)

Mr Barry Neyle – via teleconference
Australian Veterans and Defence Services Council Representative (Submission 29)

11.20am – 12.00noon

Group Captain Charles Geschke (ret'd) (Submission 11)

12.00noon – 3.30pm Break
3.30pm – 4.10pm

Mr John Hodges, National Veterans’ Affairs Advisor
Returned and Services League of Australia (Submission 27)

4.10pm – 5.00pm

Dr Philip Crouch (Submission 13)
Dr Geoffrey Williams – via videoconference
Mr Rob Robotham – via videoconference

5.00pm – 6.00pm

Department of Veterans' Affairs (Submission 30)
Mark Sullivan, Secretary
Barry Telford, General Manager of Policy and Development
Mark Johnson, National Manager of Compensation Policy
Dr Bruce Armstrong

Committee Contact: Lisa Fenn, Principal Research Officer, Telephone: (02) 6277 3868

For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3535
Fax: +61 2 6277 5818