

#### THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA

# SENATE FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE

## **LEGISLATION COMMITTEE**

## SCRUTINY OF ANNUAL REPORTS NO. 1 OF 1997

© Commonwealth of Australia
ISSN 1326-9208
This document is produced from camera-ready copy prepared by the Senate Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade Legislation Committee Secretariat, and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

### MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMITTEE

#### Members:

Senator Judith Troeth (Chair) Senator Vicki Bourne Senator John Hogg Senator the Hon Peter Cook Senator Jeannie Ferris Senator Alan Eggleston

#### Participating Members:

Senator Eric Abetz
Senator the Hon Nick Bolkus
Senator Bob Brown
Senator the Hon David Brownhill
Senator Paul Calvert
Senator Mal Colston
Senator the Hon John Faulkner
Senator Michael Forshaw
Senator Brian Harradine
Senator Dee Margetts
Senator Shayne Murphy
Senator Belinda Neal
Senator the Hon Robert Ray
Senator the Hon Chris Schacht
Senator Sue West

#### Secretariat:

Mr Paul Barsdell, Secretary Ms Loes Baker, Research Officer Mr Andrew Bourne, Research Officer Ms Dolores Young, Executive Assistant

Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Phone: (06) 277 3535 Fax: (06) 277 5818

## **CONTENTS**

Membership of the Committee			
CHAPTER 1	1		
INTRODUCTION	1		
Assessment of Annual Reports	2		
General Comments on the Annual Reports	3		
CHAPTER 2	5		
ANNUAL REPORTS OF DEPARTMENTS	5		
Department of Defence	5		
Foreign Affairs and Trade	7		
Repatriation Commission and the Department of Veterans' Affairs	8		
CHAPTER 3	11		
ANNUAL REPORTS BY STATUTORY AND NON-STATUTORY AUTHORITIES	11		
STATUTORY AUTHORITIES	11		
Australia-Japan Foundation	11		
Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)	11		
Australian Military Forces Relief Trust Fund	12		
Australian Trade Commission (Austrade)	12		
The Australian War Memorial	13		
Defence Force Remuneration Tribunal	13		
Defence Force Retirement and Death Benefits (DFRDB) Authority	14		
Judge Advocate General (JAG)	14		
Military Superannuation and Benefits Board of Trustees No. 1 National Treatment Monitoring Committee (NATMOC)	15 15		
Repatriation Medical Authority	15		
Royal Australian Air Force Welfare Trust Fund	16		
Royal Australian Navy Relief Trust Fund	16		
Veterans' Review Board	17		
NON-STATUTORY AUTHORITIES	17		
Australian Antarctic Foundation	17		
Australia-Korea Foundation	18		