Public hearing - Canberra, Wednesday 29 October 2008

Inquiry into item 16525 in Part 3 of Schedule 1 to the Health Insurance (General Medical Services Table) Regulations 2007

Public hearing - Canberra, Wednesday 29 October 2008

8.30am – 5.00pm
Committee Room 2S1, Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Time Witness

8.30am – 9.15am

Catholic Health Australia (sub 190)
Mr Martin Laverty – CEO

9.15am 10.15am

Department of Health and Ageing (sub 218)
Michael Ryan, Acting Assistant Secretary, Medicare Benefits Branch
Brian Richards, Executive Manager, Health Technology and Medical Services Group
Tony Kingdon, First Assistant Secretary, Medical Benefits Division
Bronwen Harvey, Medical Advisor, Population Health Division
Medicare Australia
Colin Bridge, General Manager, Program Review Division
Jenny Benjamin, Manager, Medicare and VAP

10.15am 11.15am

Family Planning NSW (sub 182)
Ms Anne Brassil – CEO
Dr Edith Weisberg – Director of Research
SHine SA (sub 92)
Ms Anne Nixon – Senior Manager

11.15am 11.30am


11.30am 12.30pm

World Federation of Doctors Who Respect Human Life (sub 211)
Dr David van Gend – Secretary
Medicine with Morality (sub 179)
Dr Lachlan Dunjey

12.30pm 12.45pm

Dr Thomas McEniery (sub 212)
Via teleconference

12.45pm 1.45pm


1.45pm 2.25pm

Australian Reproductive Health Alliance (sub 199)
Ms Kelsey Powell – Director

2.25pm 3.25pm

Mrs Rita Joseph (sub 20)
Australian Christian Lobby (sub 204)
Mr Lyle Shelton –  Chief of Staff

3.25pm 3.45pm


3.45pm 5.00pm

National Association of Specialist Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (sub 427)
Australian Medical Association (sub 191)
Dr Andrew Pesce – Chair of NASOG and Representative of AMA
Women's Hospitals Australasia (sub 209)
Professor David Ellwood – President


For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Finance and Public Administration
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600