## Appendix 1

### **Public hearings**

#### Monday, 18 March 2013 - Canberra

#### Fairfax Media

Mr Greg Hywood, Chief Executive & Managing Director

Ms Gail Hambly, Group General Counsel & Company Secretary

#### **Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC)**

Mr Michael Millett, Director Corporate Affairs

Mr Rob Simpson, Director Legal

#### **Special Broadcasting Service (SBS)**

Mr Michael Ebeid, Managing Director

#### **Seven West Media**

Mr Kerry Stokes AC, Chairman

Mr Ryan Stokes, Director

Mr Tim Worner, Chief Executive Officer, Broadcast Television

Mr Bruce McWilliam, Commercial Director

Ms Bridget Fair, Group Chief – Corporate and Regulatory Affairs

#### **News Limited**

Mr Kim Williams AM, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Campbell Reid, Group Editorial Director

Mr Adam Suckling, Director – Policy, Corporate Affairs and Community Relations

#### Network Ten

Mr Hamish McLennan, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Annabelle Herd, Head of Broadcast Policy

#### Nine Network

Mr Jeffrey Browne, Managing Director

Mr Scott Briggs, Director of Commercial and Regulatory Affairs

#### **Australian Subscription Television and Radio Association (ASTRA)**

Ms Petra Buchanan, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Simon Curtis, Policy and Regulatory Affairs Manager

#### **Foxtel**

Mr Richard Freudenstein, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Bruce Meagher, Director of Corporate Affairs

#### Tuesday, 19 March 2013 - Canberra

#### The Hon Ray Finkelstein QC

# Professor Matthew Ricketson, Professor of Journalism, University of Canberra Independent Media Council

The Hon James McGinty, Member

#### **Institute of Public Affairs**

Mr Chris Berg, Director, Policy

Mr Simon Breheny, Director, Legal Rights Project

#### **Australian Press Council**

Professor Julian Disney, Chair

Dr Derek Wilding, Executive Director

#### **Australian Associated Press**

Mr Bruce Davidson, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Tony Gillies, Editor in Chief

## Dr Margaret Simons, Director, Centre for Advanced Journalism, University of Melbourne

#### Professor Michael Fraser, Communications Law Centre, University of Technology Sydney

#### Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance

Ms Sue McCreadie, National Director

Mr Drew Macrae, Federal Policy Officer

#### Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy

Ms Nerida O'Loughlin, Deputy Secretary, Broadcasting and Digital Switchover

Dr Simon Pelling, First Assistant Secretary

Mr Rohan Buettel, General Manager, Legal and Parliamentary

Mr Brian Kelleher, Assistant Secretary

#### **Australian Communications and Media Authority**

Ms Jennifer McNeill, General Manager, Content, Consumer and Citizen Division

#### **Australian Competition and Consumer Commission**

Mr Brian Cassidy, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Rose Webb, Executive General Manager, Mergers and Adjudication Group

#### **Attorney-General's Department**

Mr Richard Glenn, Assistant Secretary, Business and Information Law Branch