

### THE SENATE

### ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

## Inquiry into the package of media reform bills

### **PUBLIC HEARING**

Tuesday, 19 March 2013

# Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House CANBERRA

Time	Witness
12.40 pm	The Hon. Ray Finkelstein QC Professor Matthew Ricketson, Professor of Journalism, University of Canberra
1.20 pm	Independent Media Council The Hon. James McGinty, Member
2.00 pm	Suspension
3.30 pm	Institute of Public Affairs Mr Chris Berg, Director, Policy Mr Simon Breheny, Director, Legal Rights Project
4.10 pm	Australian Press Council Professor Julian Disney, Chair Dr Derek Wilding, Executive Director
4.50 pm	Suspension
6.10 pm	AAP (via teleconference) Mr Bruce Davidson, Chief Executive Officer Mr Tony Gillies, Editor in Chief
6.30 pm	Panel: Dr Margaret Simons, Director, Centre for Advanced Journalism, University of Melbourne Professor Michael Fraser, Communications Law Centre, University of Technology, Sydney
7.20 pm	Dinner
7.50 pm	Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance Ms Sue McCreadie, National Director Mr Drew Macrae, Federal Policy Officer

8.30 pm	Panel:
	Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy
	Ms Nerida O'Loughlin, Deputy Secretary, Broadcasting and Digital Switchover
	Dr Simon Pelling, First Assistant Secretary
	Mr Rohan Buettel, General Manager, Legal and Parliamentary
	Mr Brian Kelleher, Assistant Secretary
	Australian Communications and Media Authority
	Ms Jennifer McNeill, General Manager, Content, Consumer and Citizen Division
	Australian Competition and Consumer Commission
	Mr Brian Cassidy, Chief Executive Officer
	Ms Rose Webb, Executive General Manager, Mergers & Adjudication Group
	Attorney-General's Department
_	Mr Richard Glenn, Assistant Secretary, Business and Information Law Branch
10.00 pm	Adjournment