# Appendix 2

# **Public hearings**

# Wednesday, 20 February 2013 - Melbourne

# **Australasian Fire and Emergency Services Authorities Council**

Mr Paul Considine, Manager, Operations, Urban, Fire and State Emergency Services

# **Professor Neville Nicholls, Private capacity**

#### **Bushfire Cooperative Research Centre**

Mr Gary Morgan, Chief Executive Officer

# **United Firefighters Union of Australia**

Commander Brendan Angwin, Manager, Training Development, Metropolitan Fire Brigade, Melbourne

Ms Ruth Kershaw, Economist, EB Economics

Mr Peter Marshall, National Secretary

Ms Joanne Watson, National Industrial Officer

# Australian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society

Dr Todd Lane, Vice President

Dr Blair Trewin, President

#### **Climate and Health Alliance**

Ms Fiona Armstrong, Convenor

#### **Doctors for the Environment Australia**

Adjunct Associate Professor Marion Carey, National Management Committee Member

Dr Eugenie Kayak, Victorian Chair and Member, National Management Committee

# **Australian Psychology Society**

Ms Health Gridley, Manager of Public Interest

Professor Joseph Reser, Member, Disaster Preparedness and Response Reference Group

# **Australian Red Cross**

Mr Andrew Coghlan, National Manager, Emergency Services

# Friday, 22 February 2013 – Brisbane

## **Brisbane City Council**

Mr Jason Cameron, Manager, Disaster Operations

# **Centre for Disaster Studies, James Cook University**

Associate Professor David King, Director

#### **Green Cross Australia**

Ms Mara Bun, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Jeffrey Callaghan, Meteorologist

Miss Lisa-Catherine Wilhelmseder, Head of Programs

# Griffith Centre for Coastal Management, Griffith University, Gold Coast Campus, Southport

Professor Rodger Tomlinson, Director

# Thursday, 7 March 2013 - Perth

## **Northern Territory Police, Fire and Emergency Services**

Mr Jody Nobbs, Acting Director

Mr Peter Davies, Acting Chief Information Officer

#### **Conservation Council of Western Australia**

Dr George Crisp, Volunteer, Adviser, Affiliate Group Member

Mr James Hanson, Climate and Energy Program Manager

Mr Piers Verstegen, Director

# Coastal Collaboration Cluster, Curtin University Sustainability Policy Institute

Associate Professor Laura Stocker, Deputy Leader

# Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - Sydney

#### **Risk Frontiers**

Mr Ryan Crompton, Catastrophe Risk Scientist

Professor John McAneney, Managing Director

# **Insurance Australia Group**

Ms Julie Batch, Group General Manager, Reinsurance

Mr George Karagiannakis, Head of Government and Industry Relations

Mr Malcolm Freeman, General Manager, Business Partners, CGU Insurance Ltd

#### **Insurance Australia Council**

Mr Alex Sanchez, General Manager Policy – Economics and Taxation

Mr Karl Sullivan, General Manager Policy – Risk and Disaster Planning Directorate

# Floodplain Management Association

Mr Glenn Evans, Executive Officer

#### **Antarctic Climate and Ecosystems Cooperative Research Council**

Professor Nathaniel Bindoff, Program Leader, Climate Futures

Dr Anthony Press, Chief Executive Officer

# **National Climate Change Adaptation Research Facility**

Professor Jean Palutikof, Director

Thursday, 11 April 2013 - Canberra

### **Australian Local Government Association**

Mr Adrian Beresford-Wylie, Chief Executive

Dr Alexander Donald, Private capacity

Dr Michael Eburn, Private capacity

Dr Andrew Glikson, Private capacity

Dr Elizabeth Hanna, Private capacity

Dr Anthony Kiem, Private capacity

# **Australian Medical Association**

Ms Corinne Dobson, Senior Policy Officer

Dr Steve Hambleton, President

# **Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists**

Mr Peter Cosier, Member and Convenor

Dr Richard Davis, Member

Dr Ronnie Harding, Member

Professor Lesley Hughes, Member

Professor David Karoly, Member

Mr Tim Stubbs, Environmental Engineer

Professor Bruce Thom, Member

Dr John Williams, Member

## **The Climate Institute**

Mr John Connor, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Olivia Kember, National Policy and Research Manager

## Mr David Gould, Private capacity

#### **Australian Council of Social Service**

Ms Yve Earnshaw, Director, Dunalley Community Neighbourhood Centre Inc

Dr Cassandra Goldie, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Emily Hamilton, Senior Research and Policy Officer

Dr Karl Mallon, Director, Science and Systems, Climate Risk Pty Ltd

# **Bureau of Meteorology**

Dr Karl Braganza, Manager, Climate Monitoring Services

Dr Neville Smith, Deputy Director, Research and Systems

#### **CSIRO**

Dr Mark Stafford Smith, Science Director, CSIRO Climate Adaptation Flagship

# **Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency**

Ms Benedikte Jensen, First Assistant Secretary, Adaptation, Science and Communication Division

# Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities

Mr Richard McLoughlin, Assistant Secretary

Mr Anthony Slatyer, First Assistant Secretary

Mr Sean Sullivan, First Assistant Secretary, Biodiversity Conservation Division

#### Friday, 7 June 2013 – Canberra

# **Department of Health and Ageing**

Ms Megan Morris, First Assistant Secretary, Office of Health Protection

Mr Rob Cameron, Assistant Secretary, Office of Health Protection

Dr Jenny Firman, Principal Medical Adviser, Office of Health Protection

#### **Climate Commission**

Professor Will Steffen, Climate Commissioner

#### Mr Ian Dunlop, Private capacity