

THE SENATE

ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Amendment (Independent Expert Scientific Committee on Coal Seam Gas and Large Coal Mining Development) Bill 2012 [Provisions]

PUBLIC HEARING

Thursday, 7 June 2012 Committee Room 2S1, Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.45 am	Panel:Doctors for the Environment Australia (Submission 10)Dr Peter Tait, MemberDr Marion Carey, Member (via teleconference)The Wilderness Society and Northern Inland Council for the Environment(Submission 30)Ms Carmel Flint, Spokesperson, Northern Inland Council for the EnvironmentMs Naomi Hogan, Campaign Manager, The Wilderness Society NewcastleFriends of the Earth (No submission)Mr Cam Walker, Campaigns Co-ordinator
10.45 am	Morning tea
10.55 am	Panel:Caroona Coal Action Group (Submission 5)Mr Timothy Duddy, SpokesmanBasin Sustainability Alliance (Submission 18)Mr Ian Hayllor, Chair (via teleconference)
11.55 am	National Farmers' Federation (Submission 3) Ms Deborah Kerr, Manager, National Resource Management
12.40 pm	Lunch
1.25 pm	Minerals Council of Australia (Submission 12) Mr Chris McCombe, Assistant Director, Environment Policy Ms Melanie Stutsel, Director of Health, Safety, Environment and Communities
2.10 pm	NSW Irrigators' Council (Submission 8) Mr Andrew Gregson, Chief Executive Officer
2.55 pm	Afternoon tea
3.05 pm	Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities (<i>No submission</i>) Ms Alex Rankin, First Assistant Secretary, Office of Water Science Mr Malcolm Forbes, Assistant Secretary, Office of Water Science
3.50 pm	Adjournment

PO Box 6100, Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Tel: (02) 6277 3526 Fax: (02) 6277 5818 Email: <u>ec.sen@aph.gov.au</u> Internet: <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary_Business/Committees/Senate_Committees?url=ec_ctte/index.htm</u>