The Senate

# Environment, Communications, Information Technology and the Arts References Committee

The Australian telecommunications network

© Commonwealth of Australia 2004

ISBN 0 642 71306 5

This document was printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra

# **Committee membership**

## Members:

Senator John Cherry (AD, QLD) (Chair from 27.3.03)) Senator John Tierney (LP, NSW) (Deputy Chair) Senator Kate Lundy (ALP, ACT) Senator Sue Mackay (ALP, TAS) Senator Tsebin Tchen (LP, VIC) Senator Penny Wong (ALP, SA)

#### Substitute Members

Senator Moore to replace Senator Wong for the inquiry into the Australian telecommunications network

#### Former Members

Senator Lyn Allison (AD, VIC) (Chair from 14.2.02 to 27.3.03)

# **Participating Members:**

Senator the Hon Eric Abetz (LP, TAS) Senator Lyn Allison (AD, VIC) Senator the Hon Nick Bolkus (ALP, SA) Senator the Hon Ron Boswell (NPA, QLD) Senator Bob Brown (AG, TAS) Senator Geoffrey Buckland (ALP, SA) Senator George Campbell (ALP, NSW) Senator Kim Carr (ALP, VIC) Senator Grant Chapman (LP, SA) Senator Stephen Conroy (ALP, VIC) Senator the Hon Helen Coonan (LP, NSW) Senator Alan Eggleston, (LP, WA) Senator Christopher Evans (ALP, WA) Senator the Hon. John Faulkner (ALP, NSW) Senator Alan Ferguson (LP, SA) Senator Jeannie Ferris (LP, SA) Senator Brian Greig (AD, WA) for information technology portfolio Senator Brian Harradine (IND, TAS) Senator Leonard Harris (PHON, QLD) Senator Gary Humphries (LP, ACT) Senator Susan Knowles (LP, WA) Senator Meg Lees (AD, SA) Senator Brett Mason (LP, QLD) Senator Julian McGauran (NPA, VIC) Senator Claire Moore (ALP, QLD) Senator Shayne Murphy (IND, TAS)

Senator Kerry Nettle (AG, NSW) Senator K erry O'Brien (ALP, TAS) Senator Marise Payne (LP, NSW) Senator Aden Ridgeway (AD, NSW) for arts portfolio Senator John Watson (LP, TAS) Senator Penny Wong (ALP, SA) for Australian telecommunications network inquiry

#### Committee Secretariat

Mr Michael McLean, Secretary Mr Frank Nugent, Principal Research Officer Dr Jacqueline Dewar, Senior Research Officer Ms Hanna Allison, Executive Assistant

### Committee Address

Environment, Communications, Information Technology and the Arts Reference Committee

S1.57, Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

*Tel*: 02 6277 3526 *Fax*: 02 6277 5818

*Email*: <u>ecita.sen@aph.gov.au</u>

Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/ecita\_ctte/index.htm