

Senate Education, Employment and Workplace Relations References Committee

Chair

Senator Chris Back

Deputy Chair

Senator Gavin Marshall

Members

Senator the Hon. Ronald Boswell Senator Sue Boyce Senator Alex Gallacher Senator Lee Rhiannon

Participating Members

Senator Doug Cameron Senator Bridget McKenzie Senator Rachel Siewert

Correspondence and inquiries to:

Secretary
Senate Education, Employment and
Workplace Relations Legislation
Committee
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
CANBERRA ACT 2600

Tel: 02 6277 3520 **Fax:** 02 6277 5706

Email: eewr.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet:

www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/eet_ctte/

Inquiry into adequacy of the allowance payment system for jobseekers and others, the appropriateness of the allowance payment system as a support into work and the impact of the changing nature of the labour market

Date: Wednesday, 24 October 2012

Time: 8.40am – 12.10pm Venue: The Portside Centre

Symantec House, Level 5, 207 Kent St, Sydney

8.40am – 9.20am	Academy of Social Sciences Australia Mr Dennis Trewin, Chair, Policy and Advocacy Committee
9.20am – 10.00am Teleconference	Council on the Ageing (Sub. 58) Mr Ian Yates, Chief Executive Ms Josephine Root, National Policy Manager
10.00am – 10.40am Teleconference	Professor Peter Whiteford (Sub. 60) Crawford School of Public Policy, Australian National University
10.40am – 11.20am	Australian Human Rights Commission (Sub. 43) The Hon. Susan Ryan, Human Rights Commissioner Ms Fabienne Balsamo, Principal Adviser, Ago Discrimination
11:20am – 12:10pm	DHS/Centrelink (Sub.38) Mr Barry Sandison, Deputy Secretary, Participation, Families and Older Australians Ms Michelle Lees, Service Leader
	DEEWR Ms Jennifer Taylor, Deputy Secretary, Early Childhood, Working Age and Indigenous Participation Ms Sandra Parker, Deputy Secretary Ms Sue Dawson, Group Manager, Income Support Taskforce Ms Moya Drayton, Group Manager, Job Services Australia Mr Ty Emerson, Branch Manager, Income Support Taskforce Mr Stuart Watson, Assistant Secretary Ms Lisbeth Kelly, Branch Manager, Disability Employment Services Branch
	FaHCSIA Ms Allyson Essex, A/g Group Manager, Disability and Carers Ms Leonie Corver, A/g Branch Manager, Disability and Carers Payments Policy Branch
12.10pm	Adjournment