The Senate

# **Economics Legislation Committee**

Annual reports (No. 2 of 2006)

September 2006

© Commonwealth of Australia 2006

ISBN 0 642 71688 9

Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

### **Senate Economics Legislation Committee**

#### **Core Members**

Senator George Brandis, Chair Senator Ursula Stephens, Deputy Chair Senator Grant Chapman Senator Andrew Murray Senator John Watson Senator Ruth Webber Queensland, LP New South Wales, ALP South Australia, LP Western Australia, AD Tasmania, LP Western Australia, ALP

#### **Subsitute Members**

Senator Allison to replace Senator Murray for matters relating to the Resources portfolio

Senator O'Brien to replace Senator Webber for the petrol pricing in Australia inquiry

#### **Participating Members**

Senator the Hon Eric Abetz Senator Judith Adams Senator Andrew Bartlett Senator Cory Bernardi Senator the Hon Ronald Boswell Senator Bob Brown Senator George Campbell Senator Kim Carr Senator The Hon Richard Colbeck Senator Stephen Conroy Senator the Hon Helen Coonan Senator Alan Eggleston Senator Christopher Evans Senator the Hon John Faulkner Senator Alan Ferguson Senator Jeannie Ferris Senator Steve Fielding Senator Mitch Fifield Senator Michael Forshaw Senator John Hogg Senator Barnaby Joyce Senator Linda Kirk Senator Ross Lightfoot Senator Joseph Ludwig Senator Kate Lundy Senator The Hon Ian Macdonald Senator Gavin Marshall Senator Brett Mason Senator Julian McGauran Senator Christine Milne

Tasmania, LP Western Australia, LP Oueensland, AD South Australia, LP **Oueensland**, NATS Tasmania, AG New South Wales, ALP Victoria, ALP Tasmania, LP Victoria, ALP New South Wales, LP Western Australia, LP Western Australia, ALP New South Wales, ALP South Australia, LP South Australia, LP Victoria, FFP Victoria, LP New South Wales, ALP Queensland, ALP Queensland, NATS South Australia, ALP Western Australia, LP Queensland, ALP Australian Capital Territory, ALP Queensland, LP Victoria. ALP Queensland, LP Victoria, LP Tasmania. AG

#### **Participating Members (Continued)**

Senator Andrew Murray Senator Fiona Nash Senator Kerry O'Brien Senator Stephen Parry Senator Marise Payne Senator Robert Ray Senator the Hon Nick Sherry Senator Rachael Siewert Senator Natasha Stott Despoja Senator Ruth Webber Senator Penny Wong Western Australia, AD New South Waltes, NATS Tasmania, ALP Tasmania, LP New South Wales, LP Victoria, ALP Tasmania, ALP Western Australia, AG South Australia, AD Western Australia, ALP

#### SECRETARIAT

Mr Peter Hallahan, Secretary Ms Stephanie Holden, Senior Research Officer Ms Jenene James, Estimates/Research Officer Ms Kerry West, Estimates/Research Officer Ms Judith Wuest, Executive Assistant

Suite SG.64 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Ph: 02 6277 3540 Fax: 02 6277 5719 E-mail: economics.sen@aph.gov.au Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics\_ctte/index.htm

## **TABLE OF CONTENTS**

Membership of Committee	iii
REVIEW OF ANNUAL REPORTS	1
Introduction	
Purpose and requirements of annual reports	2
Timeliness	3
Reports referred to the Committee	3
Comments on reports	4
Remarks made in the Senate	4
Appendix 1	7
Industry, Tourism and Resources Portfolio	
List of Annual Reports referred to the Committee during the period 1 November 2005 to 30 April 2006	
Appendix 2	9
Treasury Portfolio	
List of Annual Reports referred to the Committee during the period 1 November 2005 to 30 April 2006	