APPENDIX 2

Public hearings

Tuesday, 4 August 2015

Stamford Plaza Hotel, Melbourne

Witnesses

Children's Medical Research Institute

REDDEL, Professor Roger, Director

JDRF Australia

WILSON, Mr Michael John, Chief Operating Officer and Managing Director

Australian Clinical Trials Alliance

ZALCBERG, Professor John Raymond, Founding Director and Chair DONNAN, Professor Geoffrey, Founding Director McNEIL, Professor, John, Founding Director WEBB, Professor Steve, Founding Director TATE, Ms Rhiannon, Executive Officer

Australian Health Economics Society

VINEY, Professor Rosalie, President SCOTT, Professor Anthony, Member

Australian Society for Medical Research

PHILLIPS, Dr Phoebe, President

Medicines Australia

CROSS, Dr Martin, Chairman

Bionics Institute of Australia

SHEPHERD, Professor Robert K, Director

Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering

FINKEL, Dr Alan, President WENHAM, Dr Matt, Executive Manager, Policy and Projects

CSL Limited

NAYLOR, Mr Gordon, Chief Financial Officer CUTHBERTSON, Dr Andrew, Chief Scientific Officer and Research and Development Director

Group of Eight

McCLUSKEY, Professor James, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research, University of Melbourne

Universities Australia

LANSDOWN, Ms Anne-Maree, Deputy Chief Executive Officer SHARMA, Professor Arun, Chair, Deputy Vice-Chancellor's Research Committee

Innovative Research Universities

KING, Mr Conor, Executive Director

Knowledge Translation Australia

HEIDEN, Dr Tamika, Principal

Philanthropy Australia

SEIBERT, Mr Krystian, Policy and Research Manager

Medical Research Future Fund Action Group

SMITH, Mr Ian, Deputy Chair, Medical Research Future Fund Action Group CRABB, Professor Brendan, Chief Executive Officer, Burnet Institute HARTLAND, Professor Elizabeth Louise, Deputy Director, Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity

HILTON, Professor Douglas James, President, Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes, and Director, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research MULLINS, Mr Greg, Head of Policy, Research Australia

Department of Health

CORMACK, Mr Mark, Deputy Secretary, Strategic Policy and Innovation Group SPENCER, Dr Jenean, Assistant Secretary, Health and Medical Research Branch

National Health and Medical Research Council

KELSO, Professor Anne, Chief Executive Officer

Department of Finance

CASTLE, Mr Matthew, Acting Assistant Secretary, Fund and Superannuation SMYTH, Mr Nathan, First Assistant Secretary, Governance and Public Management

Future Fund Management Agency

NEAL, Mr David, Managing Director