APPENDIX 2 Public Hearings

Monday, 20 February 2012

Gumtree Room, Chifley Alice Springs Resort, Alice Springs

Witnesses

Central Australian Aboriginal Congress Ms Stephanie Bell, Chief Executive Officer Dr John Boffa, Public Health Medical Officer

Friday, 24 February 2012

Legislative Assembly, Darwin

Witnesses

Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance of the Northern Territory

Mr Chips Mackinolty, Manager, Research Advocacy Policy

General Practice Network Northern Territory

Miss Angela Tridente, Manager, Northern Territory Health Workforce and Member Services

Northern Territory Department of Health

Ms Patricia Morayne Wake, Director Remote Health Ms Nikla Louise Walford, Acting Executive Director Health Services Dr Anthony Joseph (Jo) Wright, Director, Activity based Funding

Monday, 23 April 2012

Mercure Hotel, Townsville

Witnesses

Townsville/Mackay Medicare Local Ms Aileen Colley, Mental Health Services Director 128

The North Queensland Combined Women's Services

Ms Catherine Lynnette Crawford, Coordinator

Tropical Medical Training

Mr Ian Hook, Chief Executive Officer Dr Rodney Nan Tie, Director of Training

Health Workforce Queensland

Mr Chris Joseph Mitchell, Chief Executive Officer

James Cook University

Professor Richard Murray, Dean of Medicine and Dentistry, Faculty of Medicine, Health and Molecular Sciences Ms Pamela Jayne Stronach, Faculty Executive Officer, Faculty of Medicine, Health and Molecular Sciences

Queensland Alliance for Mental Health

Ms Catherine E O'Toole, State President

Friday, 11 May 2012

Parliament House, Canberra

Witnesses

Department of Health and Ageing

Mr Lou Andreatta, Assistant Secretary Mr Mark Booth, First Assistant Secretary Mr Paul Cutting, Acting Director Ms Kerry Flanagan, Deputy Secretary Ms Penny Shakespeare, Acting First Assistant Secretary

Royal Australasian College of Physicians

Dr Leslie Edward Bolitho, President-Elect Mr Sasha Grebe, Director, Professional Affairs, HR and Advocacy

Young District Medical Centre

Dr Tom Douch, General Practitioner Mr David Kay, Practice Manager Dr William Meagher, General Practitioner

Royal College of Nursing

Professor Karen Francis, Chair, Rural Nursing and Midwifery Faculty

Ms Kathleen McLaughlin, Deputy CEO, Director, Operations and Professional Services Dr Jane Mills, Advisory Committee Member, Rural Nursing and Midwifery Faculty

National Rural Health Alliance

Mr Gordon Gregory, Executive Director Ms Anne Handley, Policy Adviser Mrs Helen Hopkins, Policy Adviser

Australian Medical Association

Dr Steve Hambleton, Federal President Mr Warwick Hough, Senior Manager, General Practice, Legal Services and Workplace Policy Department Dr David Rivett, Chair, AMA Rural Medical Committee

Rural Doctors Association of Australia

Ms Jenny Johnson, Chief Executive Officer Dr Paul Mara, President

Services for Australian Rural and Remote Allied Health

Ms Sheila Keane, Board Member Mr Rod Wellington, Chief Executive Officer

Clinical Oncological Society of Australia

Professor Bogda Koczwara, President **CRANAplus** Ms Gerardine Malone, National Coordinator of Professional Services

Australian Bureau of Statistics

Mr Alister Nairn, Director, Geography Ms Gemma Van Halderen, Program Manager, Demography, Regional and Social Analysis Branch

Dr Gilbert Hugh Murray Wallace

Tuesday, 5 June 2012

Robert Brown Meeting Room, Albury City Council Building, Albury

Witnesses

Rural Health Workforce Australia Ms Melissa Cameron, Director of Workforce Programs Ms Margie Mahon, Director of Workforce Programs

Dental Health Services Victoria

Dr Deborah Cole, Chief Executive Officer Ms Nicola McCormick, Executive Director, Workforce

Royal Australian College of General Practitioners

Dr Lauren Cordwell, Manager, National Rural Faculty Dr Kathryn Anne Kirkpatrick, Chair, National Rural Faculty

Charles Sturt University

Professor John Dwyer, Professor of Medicine and Executive Consultant to the Medical School Professor Nicholas Klomp, Dean, Faculty of Science Professor Andrew Michael Vann, Vice-Chancellor

Centre of Research Excellence in Rural and Remote Primary Health Care

Professor John Humphreys

Australian Physiotherapy Association

Mr Jonathon Kruger, General Manager, Advocacy and International Relations Division Ms Melissa Locke, National President

Dr Pieter Mourik

Council of Ambulance Authorities

Mr Gregory Philip Mundy, Chief Executive Officer

Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine

Ms Dianne Wyatt, Strategic Projects Manager

Tuesday, 10 July 2012

Parliament House, Canberra

Witnesses

Dr Christoph Ahrens

Department of Health and Ageing

Mr David Butt, Deputy Secretary Mr Adam Catchpole, Director, Rural and Regional Health Australia Mrs Elizabeth Murray, Director, Health Workforce Division

130

Ms Penny Shakespeare, First Assistant Secretary, Health Workforce Division

Queensland Health

Dr Denis Lennox, Executive Director and Senior Adviser, Medical Services, Office of Rural and Remote Health

University of Queensland

Professor Geoffrey Charles Nicholson, Head and Director of Research, Rural Clinical School