

SENATE COMMUNITY AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE INQUIRY INTO THE REGULATORY STANDARDS FOR THE APPROVAL OF MEDICAL DEVICES

Public hearing

Tuesday, 27 September 2011

Committee Room 2S1, Parliament House Canberra

		•
10.00 am	- 10.45 am	Australian Health Insurance Association (Submission 20) (via teleconference) Dr Michael Armitage, Chief Executive Officer
10.45	44.00	
10.45 am	- 11.00 am	Break
11.00 am	- 11.45 am	Medical Technology Association of Australia (Submission 12)
		Ms Anne Trimmer, Chief Executive Officer
11.45 am	- 12.30 pm	Australian Orthopaedic Association (Submission 5)
		Mr Adrian Cosenza, Chief Executive Officer
		Professor Stephen Graves, Director, National Joint Replacement Registry Dr David Davidson, Deputy Director, National Joint Replacement Registry
12.30 pm	- 1.30 pm	Lunch
1.30 pm	- 2.15 pm	Consumers Health Forum of Australia (Submission 2)
		Ms Carol Bennett, Chief Executive Officer Ms Anna Wise, Senior Policy Officer
2.15 pm	- 3.00 pm	Johnson & Johnson (Submission 28)
		Mr Anthony Bishop, Area Vice President, A/NZ
		Mr Nicholas Campbell, Executive Director of Corporate and Government Affairs Ms Robyn Chu, Director of Health Outcomes
		Professor Graham Isaac, Distinguished Engineering Fellow, Hips (via teleconference)
3.00 pm	- 3.15 pm	Break
3.15 pm	- 4.30 pm	Therapeutic Goods Administration (Submission 18)
		Dr Rohan Hammett, National Manager Dr Megan Keaney, Principal Medical Adviser Dr Larry Kelly, Manitoring and Compliance Group

Dr Megan Keaney, Principal Medical Adviser Dr Larry Kelly, Monitoring and Compliance Group Ms Judy Develin, Market Authorisation Group Ms Andrea Kunca, Office of Devices Authorisation

Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research (Submission 21)

Mr Peter Chesworth, General Manager, Pharmaceuticals, Health Industries and Enabling Technologies Branch

Mr Peter Lunn, Manager, Pharmaceuticals and Health Technologies Section

Department of Health and Ageing

Mr David Learmonth, Deputy Secretary

Mr Richard Bartlett, First Assistant Secretary, Medical Benefits Division

Mr Peter Woodley, Assistant Secretary

Dr Brian Richards, Principal Medical Adviser