# **APPENDIX 3**

## **PUBLIC HEARINGS**

## Friday 25 March 2011

## Parliament House, Canberra

#### **Committee Members in attendance:**

Senator Rachel Siewert (Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Sue Boyce Senator Carol Brown Senator Mark Furner

Senator Steve Fielding

#### Witnesses

## **Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency**

Mr Andrew Bailey, First Assistant Secretary, Renewable Energy Efficiency Division Mr David Tonna, Director, Strategy and Partnerships Branch, Renewable Energy Efficiency Division

## Dr Nina Pierpont, Private capacity

#### **Commonwealth Science and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)**

Dr Peta Ashworth, Group Leader, CSIRO Science into Society Group Dr Nina Hall, Social Scientist, SCIRO Science into Society Group

### **Greenpeace Australia Pacific**

Mr Julien Vincent, Climate and Energy Campaigner

## Aerial Agricultural Association of Australia Ltd

Mr Phillip Hurst, Chief Executive Officer

### **Dr James Prest, Private Capacity**

## **AGL Energy Ltd**

Mr Nigel Bean, Head - Generation Development Ms Sarah McNamara, Head - Government Affairs

### **RES Australia Pty Ltd**

Mr Matthew William Rebbeck, Technical Director

#### **Union Fenosa Wind Australia**

Mr Guillermo Alonso, Technical Manager

Mr Thomas Mitchell, Development Manager

Mr Shaq Mohajerani, Engineering Manager

#### **Union Fenosa Wind Australia Crookwell 3**

Mr Matthew Donoghoe, Landholder

## Monday 28 March 2011

## University of Ballarat, Ballarat

#### **Committee Members in attendance:**

Senator Rachel Siewert (Chair) Senator Claire Moore (Deputy Chair)

Senator Steve Fielding

Senator Sue Boyce

Senator Judith Adams

#### Witnesses

## Mr Carl and Mrs Samantha Stepnell, Private Capacity

### Mr Noel Dean, Private Capacity

## **Australian Landscape Guardians**

Mr Paul Miskelly, Member, Technical and Economic Committee Mr Peter Mitchell, Member, Technical and Economic Committee

## **Artists for the Environment Landscape Guardians**

Mr Peter Russell-Clarke, President

## **Prom Coast Guardians Inc**

Mr Alexander McKinlay, President

Mr Peter Wingett, Secretary

Dr Alan Lacey, Public Officer

## **Grampians-Glenthompson Landscape Guardians Inc**

Mr Adrian Lyon, Secretary

Mrs Judy Vanrenen, President

Mrs Helen Lyon, Committee Member

## **Western Plains Landscape Guardians**

Mr Andrew Charles Gabb, Chair

Mr David Jackson, Committee Member

Mrs Megan Read, Secretary

#### **Moyne Shire Council**

Mr Russell Guest, Manager, Strategic Planning

## **Glenelg Shire Council**

Mr Sydney Deam, Group Manager Planning and Economic Development Ms Sharon Kelsey, Chief Executive Officer

## **Pyrenees Shire Council**

Mr Stephen Cornish, Chief Executive Officer Mr David Clark, Councillor, Mitchell Riding

Mr Chris Hall, Senior Town Planner,

## **Chepstowe Wind Farm Action Group**

Mrs Jenny Bruty, Leader, Rural Zone Landowners Group

Mr Per Bernard, Private Capacity

Mrs Robyn Brew, Private Capacity

Mr Tony Briddy, Private Capacity

Mr Stephen Coleman, Private Capacity

Mrs Suzanne Dean, Private Capacity

Mr James Elsworth, Private Capacity

Mr William Elsworth, Private Capacity

Mr Richard Leigh Evans, Private Capacity

Ms Karen Jones, Private Capacity

Mrs Angela Kearns, Private Capacity

Mr Graeme Keating, Private Capacity

Mrs Cathy Keating, Private Capacity

Mrs Tanya Kehoe, Private Capacity

Mr Richard Kelly, Private Capacity

Mr Brian Kermond, Private Capacity

Dr David Mackay, Private Capacity

Mr Peter McLaughlin, Private Capacity

Mr John McMahon, Private Capacity

Mrs Heather McMahon, Private Capacity

Mrs Renate Metzger, Private Capacity

Ms Melanie Robertson, Private Capacity

Mr Allan Schafer, Private Capacity

Mrs Anne Schafer, Private Capacity

Mr Peter Seligman, Private Capacity

Mr Martin Shield, Private Capacity

Mr Donald Thomas, Private Capacity

Ms Alicia Webb, Private Capacity

## Tuesday 29March 2011

St James Court Conference Centre, Melbourne

#### **Committee Members in attendance:**

Senator Rachel Siewert (Chair) Senator Claire Moore (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Sue Boyce Senator Steve Fielding

#### Witnesses

## **Vestas Australian Wind Technology Pty Ltd**

Mr Ken McAlpine, Director, Policy and Government Relations, Asia-Pacific Region

## **Ballarat Renewable Energy and Zero Emissions**

Mr Andrew Bray, Community Campaigner

## **Clean Energy Council**

Mr Russell Marsh, Policy Director

Mr Matthew Warren, Chief Executive Officer

#### Waubra Foundation

Dr Sarah Laurie, Medical Director

#### **Country Fire Authority Victoria**

Mr Geoffrey Conway, Deputy Chief Officer, Emergency Management

## **Hepburn Wind**

Mr Simon Holmes à Court, Chairman

#### **Acciona Energy**

Mr Brett Wickham, Director Generation

Mr Andrew Thomson, Director Development

### **Infigen Energy**

Mr Jonathon Upson, Senior Development Manager

## **Origin Energy Ltd**

Mr Kyle Russell, Group Manager Development

## Pacific Hydro Pty Ltd

Mr Lane Crockett, General Manager Australia

## **WestWind Energy Pty Ltd**

Mr Phil Burn, Project Developer

Mr Tobias Geiger, Managing Director

## Wind Pacific (Australia) Pty Ltd

Mr Craig Eyes, Director

### Friends of the Earth Australia

Mr Cam Walker, Campaigns Coordinator

## **Victorian Planning and Environment Law Association**

Mr Peter O'Farrell, Board Member,

Ms Jane Sharp, Executive Director

#### **Climate and Health Alliance**

Dr Susie Burke, Board Member and Senior Psychologist, Public Interest, Environment and Disaster Response, Australian Psychological Society

Professor Simon Chapman, Expert Adviser, and Professor of Public Health, University of Sydney

Ms Elizabeth Reale, Board Member and Federal Professional Research Officer, Australian Nursing Federation

## Mr Andrew Cox, Private capacity

## Thursday 31 March 2011

## Legislative Assembly, Perth

#### **Committee Members in attendance:**

Senator Rachel Siewert (Chair) Senator Claire Moore (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Sue Boyce Senator Steve Fielding

#### Witnesses

## Sustainable Energy Association of Australia

Mr Neil Anthony Prentice, Advisory Services Manager

#### **Friends of Collector Inc**

Mr Anthony Hodgson AM, Inaugural President

## **Western Australian Farmers Federation Inc**

Mr Dale Park, Senior Vice President

## **Professor Gary Wittert, Private Capacity**

#### **Doctors for the Environment Australia**

Dr George Crisp, WA Representative

Mr Roger Bilney, Private Capacity

Ms Helen Bignell, Private Capacity

Mrs Elizabeth Atkins, Private Capacity

## Oil Mallee Association of Australia Inc

Mr Lex Hardie, President

#### **National Health and Medical Research Council**

Professor Warwick Anderson AM, Chief Executive Officer Professor John McCallum, Head of Research Translation Group

## **SkyFarming Pty Ltd**

Mr Andrew Woodroffe, Technical Director

## **Collgar Wind Farm Pty Ltd**

Mr Alistair Craib, Chief Executive Officer

## **Moonies Hill Energy Pty Ltd**

Dr Sarah Rankin

#### West Hills Farm Ptv Ltd

Mr Mathew Rosser

## **Tuesday 17 May 2011**

## Parliament House, Canberra

#### **Committee Members in attendance:**

Senator Rachel Siewert (Chair) Senator Claire Moore (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Sue Boyce Senator Steve Fielding

## Witnesses

# **Australian Energy Market Operator**

Mr David Swift, Executive General Manager Corporate Development

## **National Acoustic Laboratories**

Dr Warwick Williams, Senior Research Engineer