APPENDIX 2

Public hearing

Friday, 7 May 2010 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senators Siewert (Chair) Senator Claire Moore (Deputy Chair) Senator Concetta Fierravanti-Wells Senator Scott Ryan

Witnesses

Medicines Australia

Mr Will Delaat, Chairman Dr Brendan Shaw, Chief Executive Mr Andrew Bruce, Executive Director, Health Policy and Research

Janssen-Cilag Australia

Mr Tim James, Manager – Corporate and Government Affairs

Sanofi-aventis Australia

Mr Paul Lindsay, Public Affairs Director Dr Alex Condoleon, Medical Director

AstraZeneca

Dr Simon Fisher, Senior Director, Medical and Regulatory Affairs Mr Kieran Schneemann, Government Affairs Director

Pfizer Australia

Mr David Miles, Senior Manager, Government Affairs Dr Peter Stewart, Primary Care Medical Head, Australia and New Zealand

Australian and New Zealand Bone and Mineral Society

Professor Markus Seibel, Council Member

Chronic Illness Alliance via teleconference

Ms Jan Donovan

Arthritis Australia

Dr Mona Marabini, President Ms Ainslie Cahill, Chief Executive Officer

Mental Health Council of Australia

Mr David Crosbie, Chief Executive Officer Ms Melanie Cantwell, Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Carers Australia

Ms Sue Aiesi, Policy, Communications and Research Manager Ms Jessica Beswick, Policy and Research Officer

MS Australia

Dr Elizabeth McDonald, Medical Director

Pharmacy Guild of Australia

Ms Toni Riley, National Councillor (Victoria) Dr Michael Tatchell, Director Health Economics Mr Vincent O'Sullivan, Manager Health Economics

Generic Medicines Industry Association

Ms Kate Lynch, Chief Executive Officer

Consumers Health Forum of Australia

Ms Carol Bennett, Executive Director Ms Anna Wise, Senior Policy Manager

Dr Stephen Oakley via teleconference

Dr Gabor Major

Dr Charles Inderjeeth via teleconference

Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee

Emeritus Professor Lloyd Sansom, Chair

Department of Health and Ageing

Mr David Learmonth, Deputy Secretary

Mr Andrew Stuart, First Assistant Secretary, Pharmaceutical Benefits Division

Ms Felicity McNeill, Assistant Secretary, Pharmaceutical Evaluation Branch, Pharmaceutical Benefits Division

Dr John Primrose, Medical Advisor, Pharmaceutical Benefits Division

Mr Kim Bessell, Principal Pharmacy Advisor