© Commonwealth of Australia 2013

ISBN 978-1-74229-930-3

This document was prepared by the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Human Rights and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Department of the Senate, Parliament House, Canberra.

## Membership of the committee

## Members

Senator Dean Smith, Chair Mr Laurie Ferguson MP, Deputy Chair Senator Sue Boyce Dr David Gillespie MP Mr Andrew Laming MP Senator the Hon Kate Lundy Ms Michelle Rowland MP Senator the Hon Ursula Stephens Senator Penny Wright Mr Ken Wyatt AM MP Western Australia, LP Werriwa, New South Wales, ALP Queensland, LP Lyne, New South Wales, NAT Bowman, Queensland, LP Australia Capital Territory, ALP Greenway, New South Wales, ALP New South Wales, ALP South Australia, AG Hasluck, Western Australia, LP

## **Functions of the committee**

The Committee has the following functions:

- a) to examine Bills for Acts, and legislative instruments, that come before either House of the Parliament for compatibility with human rights, and to report to both Houses of the Parliament on that issue;
- b) to examine Acts for compatibility with human rights, and to report to both Houses of the Parliament on that issue;
- c) to inquire into any matter relating to human rights which is referred to it by the Attorney-General, and to report to both Houses of the Parliament on that matter.

Parliamentary Joint Committee on Human Rights PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: 02 6277 3823 Fax: 02 6277 5767

E-mail: <u>human.rights@aph.gov.au</u> Internet: <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/joint\_humanrights/</u>