Membership of the committee

Members

Mr Harry Jenkins MP, Chair Scullin, Victoria, ALP Mr Ken Wyatt AM MP, Deputy Chair Hasluck, Western Australia, LP Mr Graham Perrett MP Moreton, Queensland, ALP Senator Anne Ruston South Australia, LP Senator Dean Smith Western Australia, LP Senator the Hon. Ursula Stephens New South Wales, ALP Mr Dan Tehan MP Wannon, Victoria, LP Senator Matt Thistlethwaite New South Wales, ALP Senator Penny Wright South Australia, AG Mr Tony Zappia MP Makin, South Australia, ALP

Functions of the committee

The Committee has the following functions:

- a) to examine Bills for Acts, and legislative instruments, that come before either House of the Parliament for compatibility with human rights, and to report to both Houses of the Parliament on that issue;
- b) to examine Acts for compatibility with human rights, and to report to both Houses of the Parliament on that issue;
- c) to inquire into any matter relating to human rights which is referred to it by the Attorney-General, and to report to both Houses of the Parliament on that matter.

Committee secretariat

Ms Jeanette Radcliffe, Secretary Ms Renuka Thilagaratnam, Principal Research Officer Ms Anita Coles, Principal Research Officer Mr Glenn Ryall, Senior Research Officer

External Legal Adviser

Professor Andrew Byrnes

E-mail: human.rights@aph.gov.au

Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/joint humanrights/

PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600
Ph: 02 6277 3823
Fax: 02 6277 5767