

Parliamentary Joint Committee on Human Rights

Examination of legislation in accordance with the *Human Rights (Parliamentary Scrutiny) Act 2011*

Stronger Futures in the Northern Territory Act 2012 and related legislation

Eleventh Report of 2013

June 2013

© Commonwealth of Australia 2013

ISBN 978-1-74229-888-7

This document was prepared by the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Human Rights and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Department of the Senate, Parliament House, Canberra.

Membership of the committee

Members

Mr Harry Jenkins MP, Chair	Scullin, Victoria, ALP
Mr Ken Wyatt AM MP, Deputy Chair	Hasluck, Western Australia, LP
Mr Graham Perrett MP	Moreton, Queensland, ALP
Senator the Hon Kim Carr	Victoria, ALP
Senator Anne Ruston	South Australia, LP
Senator Dean Smith	Western Australia, LP
Senator the Hon. Ursula Stephens	New South Wales, ALP
Mr Dan Tehan MP	Wannon, Victoria, LP
Senator Penny Wright	South Australia, AG
Mr Tony Zappia MP	Makin, South Australia, ALP

Functions of the committee

The Committee has the following functions:

- a) to examine Bills for Acts, and legislative instruments, that come before either House of the Parliament for compatibility with human rights, and to report to both Houses of the Parliament on that issue;
- b) to examine Acts for compatibility with human rights, and to report to both Houses of the Parliament on that issue;
- c) to inquire into any matter relating to human rights which is referred to it by the Attorney-General, and to report to both Houses of the Parliament on that matter.

Committee secretariat

Ms Jeanette Radcliffe, Secretary Ms Renuka Thilagaratnam, Principal Research Officer Ms Anita Coles, Principal Research Officer Mr Glenn Ryall, Senior Research Officer Ms Hannah Dibley, Legislative Research Officer PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Ph: 02 6277 3823 Fax: 02 6277 5767

External Legal Adviser

Professor Andrew Byrnes

E-mail: <u>human.rights@aph.gov.au</u> Internet: <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/joint_humanrights/</u>