© Commonwealth of Australia 2012

ISBN 978-1-74229-678-4

This document was prepared by the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Human Rights and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Department of the Senate, Parliament House, Canberra.

Membership of the committee

Members

Mr Harry Jenkins MP, Chair Mr Ken Wyatt AM MP, Deputy Chair Senator Sean Edwards (until 20 August 2012) Senator Gary Humphries Ms Melissa Parke MP Senator Dean Smith (from 20 August 2012) Senator the Hon. Ursula Stephens Mr Dan Tehan MP Senator Matt Thistlethwaite Mr Kelvin Thomson MP Senator Penny Wright Scullin, Victoria, ALP Hasluck, Western Australia, LP South Australia, LP Australian Capital Territory, LP Fremantle, Western Australia, ALP Western Australia, LP New South Wales, ALP Wannon, Victoria, LP New South Wales, ALP Wills, Victoria, ALP South Australia, AG

Functions of the Committee

The Committee has the following functions:

- a) to examine Bills for Acts, and legislative instruments, that come before either House of the Parliament for compatibility with human rights, and to report to both Houses of the Parliament on that issue;
- b) to examine Acts for compatibility with human rights, and to report to both Houses of the Parliament on that issue;
- c) to inquire into any matter relating to human rights which is referred to it by the Attorney-General, and to report to both Houses of the Parliament on that matter.

Committee secretariat:

PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Ph: 02 6277 3823 Fax: 02 6277 5767 E-mail: <u>human.rights@aph.gov.au</u> Internet: <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary_Business/Committees/Senate_Committees?url=</u> <u>humanrights_ctte/index.htm</u>