MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

Senator Grant Chapman, Chairman

Ms Anna Burke MP, Deputy Chair

Mr Mark Baker MP

Mr Kerry Bartlett MP

Mr Chris Bowen MP

Senator George Brandis

Mr Stewart McArthur MP

Senator Andrew Murray

Senator the Hon Nick Sherry

Senator Penny Wong

SECRETARIAT

Mr David Sullivan, Secretary

Mr Stephen Palethorpe, Principal Research Officer

Mr Andrew Bomm, Senior Research Officer

Ms Laurie Cassidy, Executive Assistant

Suite SG.64 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

T: 61 2 6277 3583 F: 61 2 6277 5719

E: corporations.joint@aph.gov.au

W: www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/corporations_ctte

DUTIES OF THE COMMITTEE

Section 243 of the *Australian Securities and Investments Commission Act 2001* sets out the Parliamentary Committee's duties as follows:

- (a) to inquire into, and report to both Houses on:
 - (i) activities of ASIC or the Panel, or matters connected with such activities, to which, in the Parliamentary Committee's opinion, the Parliament's attention should be directed; or
 - (ii) the operation of the corporations legislation (other than the excluded provisions), or of any other law of the Commonwealth, of a State or Territory or of a foreign country that appears to the Parliamentary Committee to affect significantly the operation of the corporations legislation (other than the excluded provisions); and
- (b) to examine each annual report that is prepared by a body established by this Act and of which a copy has been laid before a House, and to report to both Houses on matters that appear in, or arise out of, that annual report and to which, in the Parliamentary Committee's opinion, the Parliament's attention should be directed; and
- (c) to inquire into any question in connection with its duties that is referred to it by a House, and to report to that House on that question.