© Commonwealth of Australia 2014

ISBN 978-1-76010-031-5

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License.



The details of this licence are available on the Creative Commons website: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/au/

Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

Committee membership

Committee members

Mr Ken Wyatt AM MP, Chair Senator Nova Peris, Deputy Chair The Hon Shayne Neumann MP The Hon Christian Porter MP Mr Stephen Jones MP Senator Bridget McKenzie Senator James McGrath (from 1 July 2014) Senator Anne Ruston (until 1 July 2014) Senator Rachel Siewert

Western Australia, LP Northern Territory, ALP Queensland, ALP Western Australia, LP New South Wales, ALP Victoria, NATS Queensland, LP South Australia, LP Western Australia, AG

Committee secretariat

Ms Toni Matulick, Secretary Dr Jon Bell, Principal Research Officer Ms Erin Pynor, Senior Research Officer Ms Kimberley Balaga, Administrative Officer

Committee address

PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: 02 6277 3544 Fax: 02 6277 5719 Email: jscatsi@aph.gov.au Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/jscatsi

Duties of the Committee

- (1) On 2 December 2013, the Parliament agreed that a Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples be appointed to inquire into and report on steps that can be taken to progress towards a successful referendum on Indigenous constitutional recognition, and in conducting the inquiry, the committee:
 - (a) work to build a secure strong multi-partisan parliamentary consensus around the timing, specific content and wording of referendum proposals for Indigenous constitutional recognition; and
 - (b) consider:
 - the creation of an advisory group whose membership includes representatives of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to assist the work of the committee;
 - (ii) the recommendations of the Expert Panel on Constitutional Recognition of Indigenous Australians; and
 - (iii) mechanisms to build further engagement and support for the constitutional recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples across all sectors of the community, and taking into account and complementing the existing work being undertaken by Recognise; and
- (2) the committee present to Parliament an interim report on or before 30 September 2014 and its final report on or before 30 June 2015.