

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES Standing Committee on Science and Innovation Inquiry into coordination of science to combat salinity MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 6 November 2003

Chair: Gary Nairn, MP Deputy Chair: Ann Corcoran MP

Inquiry into coordination of the science to combat salinity: Canberra public hearing, Friday 7 November

The House of Representatives Science and Innovation Committee is conducting public hearings to collect evidence for its inquiry into the coordination of the science to combat the nation's salinity problem.

The fifth public hearing for the inquiry will be held this Friday, 7 November, in Canberra.

The Committee will hear evidence from a range of key national agencies involved in both salinity research and program implementation. The full program appears below. The Committee has previously held hearings in Canberra, Sydney, Wagga Wagga and Shepparton.

The inquiry, which has received more than 60 submissions to date, is looking at the Commonwealth government's role in managing and co-ordinating the application of the best science in relation to Australia's salinity programs.

In particular the Committee will investigate the use of scientific research in salinity programs, the linkages between researchers and end users, and the adequacy of the available support for those applying management options. The Committee is **not** investigating the causes of, or solutions to, salinity.

The Chair of the House Science and Innovation Committee, Mr Gary Nairn, said: "The Commonwealth and states have taken decisive steps to address Australia's salinity problem, including agreeing to the National Action Plan for Salinity and Water Quality.

"It is essential that the best scientific knowledge and expertise are used to address the challenges presented by the nation's increasing salinity problem, and this inquiry is aimed at ensuring that structures are in place to guarantee that happens out on the ground."

Friday 7 No	EARING SCHEDULE ovember 2003	
Committee	Room 1R3, Parliament House, Canberra	
9.30 am	Natural Resource Intelligence (submission 32)	
10.30 am	Land and Water Australia (Research and Development Corporation) (submission 59)	
11.30 am	Murray-Darling Basin Commission (submission 51)	
1.30 pm	Commonwealth Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry Commonwealth Department of Environment and Heritage	
2.30 pm	Grains Research and Development Corporation (submission 29)	
3.30 pm	CSIRO (submission 42)	

The full terms of reference (overleaf) and other information relating to the inquiry, including submissions, can be obtained from the inquiry web site at:

www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/scin/salinity or from the Secretariat on (02) 6277 4150 or via email at Scin.Reps@aph.gov.au.

For media comment, please contact the Committee Chair, Mr Gary Nairn MP, via: (02) 6297 3952 (Electorate Office)

Website:	www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/scin	l
E-mail:	scin.reps@aph.gov.au	
	02 6277 4150 02 6277 4827	