

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON NATIONAL CAPITAL AND EXTERNAL TERRITORIES

Inquiry into the adequacy of funding for Australia's Antarctic Program

Inquiry into the adequacy of funding for Australia's Antarctic Program

Final public hearing, 23 June 2004

Parliament's External Territories Committee will be holding the final public hearing for its inquiry into the adequacy of funding for Australia's Antarctic Program on the evening of Wednesday, 23 June 2004.

The Committee will be hearing evidence from witnesses including the Australian Antarctic Division and the Antarctic Science Advisory Committee. The Australian Antarctic Division is the part of the Department of the Environment and Heritage responsible for administering Australia's wide-ranging activities in Antarctic and sub-Antarctic regions.

Some of the issues the Committee will be looking to discuss include:

- whether the Australian Antarctic Division should continue to have overall responsibilities for managing Australia's interests in Antarctica, as well as managing the science program and providing logistical support and infrastructure;
- the future of the proposed regular air service between Hobart and Casey Station, and whether a
 more cost effective route could be used i.e. between Albany (WA) and Davis Station.
- the future of Australia's three Antarctic stations in light of a shift to automated monitoring programs;
- whether Australia is getting the best returns possible from its scientific efforts;
- the Division's role in the conservation of cultural heritage sites in Antarctica such as Mawson's Huts; and
- the Division's role in the fight against illegal, unreported and unregulated fishing.

Further information about the Australian Antarctic Division and their role in Australia's Antarctic Program can be found at the Division's website: <u>www.aad.gov.au</u>

PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM: Wednesday 23 June 2004, Committee Room 2S1, Parliament House

5:00pm	Australian Antarctic Division	Submission no. 24
6:00pm	Antarctic Science Advisory Committee	Submission no. 13
6:30pm	Godden Mackay Logan Heritage Consultants	Submission no. 8
7:00pm	University of New South Wales School of Physics (Antarctic Astronomy Group)	Submission no. 11
7:30pm	Adjournment	

The inquiry has so far received 31 submissions. Submissions are available at the inquiry website at: http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ncet/antarctic/subs.htm

For media comment, contact the Chairman, Senator Ross Lightfoot, on tel: (02) 6277 3626. For further information, contact the Inquiry Secretary, Mr Quinton Clements in the Committee secretariat, on tel: (02) 6277 2135.

Telephone: 02 6277 4355 Facsimile: 02 6277 8478 E-mail: jscncet@aph.gov.au Website: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ncet

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600

MEDIA ALERT

Issued: Monday 21 June 2004

Members of the Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories are:

- Senator Ross Lightfoot (Chairman) (Liberal Party of Australia, WA)
- Senator Trish Crossin (Deputy Chair) (Australian Labor Party, NT)
- Senator John Hogg (Australian Labor Party, QLD)
- Senator Kate Lundy (Australian Labor Party, ACT)
- Senator Nigel Scullion (Country Liberal Party, NT)
- Senator Natasha Stott Despoja (Australian Democrats, SA)
- Hon Ian Causley MP (National Party of Australia, Page, NSW)
- Ms Annette Ellis MP (Australian Labor Party, Canberra, ACT)
- Mr Paul Neville MP (National Party of Australia, Hinkler, QLD)
- Hon Warren Snowdon MP (Australian Labor Party, Lingiari, NT)
- Mr Cameron Thompson MP (Liberal Party of Australia, Blair, QLD)
- Dr Mal Washer (Liberal Party of Australia, Moore, WA)