# D

# Appendix D — List of Witnesses Appearing at Public Hearings

# Canberra, Monday 31 March 2003

Australian National Audit Office

Mr John Meert, Group Executive Director

Dr Paul Nicholl, Group Executive Director

Mr Michael McFarlane, Auditor

Ms Jan Tankiang, Auditor

Department of Family and Community Services

Mr Tony Mee, Assistant Secretary, Business Information Solutions Branch

# Centrelink

Mr Patrick Fegan, National Manager, Business and Information Protection

Ms Jane Treadwell, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Digital Business and Chief Information Officer

# Australian Bureau of Statistics

Mr Jonathan James, First Assistant Statistician and Chief Information Officer, Technology Services Division

Ms Marion Kathleen McEwin, Assistant Statistician, Policy Secretariat Branch

**Australian Taxation Office** 

Mr Gregory Dark, Assistant Commissioner

Mr Chander Vohra, Assistant Commissioner, Trusted Access

Mr Gregory Douglas Farr, Second Commissioner

Department of Health and Ageing

Dr Robert Edward Wooding, First Assistant Secretary, Information and Communications Division

Dr Ron McLaren, Assistant Secretary, Information Management and Technology Strategy Branch, Business Group

Ms Eija Seittenranta, Assistant Secretary, Technology Services Branch, Business Group

Mr Gary Leslie Sutton, Director, Information Strategies Section, Information and Communications Division

**Department of Employment and Workplace Relations** 

Mr John Burston, Chief Information Officer

Mr Jeremy O'Sullivan, Assistant Secretary, Legal and Risk Branch

Mr Tim Prydon, Technical Director, Employment Systems

Mr Brian Edward McMillan, Employment Counsel

# Canberra, Tuesday 1 April 2003

National Office for the Information Economy

Mr Keith Besgrove, Chief General Manager, Regulatory and Analysis Group

Mr John Grant, Chief General Manager, Government Services and Information Environment Division

Mr Tom Dale, General Manager, Regulatory Branch

**EDS Australia** 

Ms Sheelagh Whittaker, Executive Vice President

National Archives of Australia

Mr Stephen John Stuckey, Acting Director-General

Ms Kathryn Patricia Dan, Assistant Director-General, Government Record Keeping

Mr Adrian Edward Cunningham, Director, Record Keeping Standards and Policy

#### Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman

Professor John Denison McMillan, Commonwealth Ombudsman

Mr John R. Taylor, Senior Assistant Ombudsman, Professional Standards and Administration

#### Australian Electoral Commission

Mr Paul Edwin Dacey, Deputy Electoral Commissioner

Ms Barbara Jane Davis, First Assistant Commissioner, Business Support

Mr Kenneth Robert Hunter, Assistant Commissioner, Information Technology

Mr Andrew David Moyes, Assistant Commissioner, Enrolment and Parliamentary Services

Ms Marie Patricia Nelson, Assistant Commissioner, Corporate Services

Mr David Norman Power, Director, IT Business Services

#### Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation

Mr Philip Gregory Kent, Executive Manager, Knowledge and Information Management

Mr Alan Geoffrey Morrison, Executive Manager, Information Security

Mr Anthony George Wyatt, IT Security Adviser

#### Attorney-General's Department

Mr Peter Ford, First Assistant Secretary, Information and Security Law Division

Mr Trevor Clement, Assistant Secretary, National Security Hotline

Mr Peter LeRoy, General Manager, Information and Knowledge Services Group

#### Sydney, Wednesday 2 April 2003

**Computer Associates** 

Mr Christopher Robert Wilson, Regional Manager, Security

Mr Nicholas Engelman, Senior Architect

#### AUUG Inc

Mr Michael William Paddon, Spokesperson, Member and Past President

# Standards Australia International Ltd

Mr Mark Bezzina, Director, Business Standards, Management and Business Communications, IT and eCommerce
Mr Panjan Navaratnam, Projects Manager, Communications, IT and eCommerce
Check Point Software Technologies (Australia) Pty Ltd
Mr Robert Scott Fergusson, Regional Director
Mr Jason Loveday, Systems Engineer
Mr Andrew Bruce Mostyn Hurt, Consultant
SingTel Optus Pty Ltd
Mr David McCulloch, General Manager, Government Affairs
Ms Jill Reich, Sales Executive
Mr David Kidd, Solutions Architect
Office of the Federal Privacy Commissioner
Mr Malcolm Crompton, Federal Privacy Commissioner
Mr Timothy Pilgrim, Deputy Federal Privacy Commissioner
Canberra, Monday 2 June 2003
Australian Federal Police
Mr John Ryles, Director, Information Technology
Federal Agent William Jamieson, Director, Professional Standards
Health Insurance Commission
Dr Brian Richards, Chief Information Officer
Ms Lyn O'Connell, General Manager, IT Services Division
Department of Finance and Administration
Ms Kathryn Campbell, First Assistant Secretary, Social Welfare Division
Mr Dominic Staun, General Manager, Financial and e-Solutions Group
Mr Matthew James Flavel, Branch Manager, Budget Coordination
Mr Mike Loudon, Branch Manager, Procurement
Mr John Nicholson, Branch Manager, Infrastructure Branch
Mr Antony Stinziani, Branch Manager, Strategy and Service Management Branch

#### Canberra, Monday 16 June 2003

#### **Defence Signals Directorate**

Mr Tim Burmeister, Acting Assistant Secretary, Information Security

Ms Lynwen Connick, Assistant Secretary, Information Security

Mr Stephen Merchant, Director

Mr Allan Louis Black, Manager, Government IT Security

Mr Michael Robert Scotton, Manager, Industry Liaison, Information Security Group

Microsoft Australia Pty Ltd

Mr Calum Russell, Group Manager

# Canberra, Thursday 19 June 2003

National Office for the Information Economy

Mr Keith Besgrove, Chief General Manager, Regulatory and Analysis Group

Mr John Grant, Chief General Manager, Government Services and Information Environment

Ms Christine Elsley, Manager (Acting), Gatekeeper

Mr Paul Bambury, Assistant Manager, Government Authentication

**Defence Signals Directorate** 

Mr Allan Louis Black, Manager, Government IT Security

Mr Glen Mattocks, Manager, Whole of Government Projects

#### Canberra, Thursday 26 June 2003

Department of the Treasury

Mr Ian Robinson, General Manager, Corporate Services

Mr Geoff De La Motte, Manager, Information and IT Technology Services

# Canberra, Friday 17 October 2003

#### **EDS Australia**

Mr Michael Smith, Executive Director, Australian Federal Government Group

#### Australian Identity Security Alliance

Dr Edward James Essington Lewis, Convenor

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Mr James Alexander Nockels, First Assistant Director-General

**Department of Transport and Regional Services** 

Mr David Banham, Chief Information Officer

Mr Robert Fisher, First Assistant Secretary, Corporate

Mr Andrew Tongue, First Assistant Secretary

Mr Peter Yuile, Deputy Secretary

Australian Customs Service

Mr Lionel Woodward, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Murray Harrison, Chief Information Officer

Ms Gail Batman, National Director, Border Intelligence and Passengers

#### **Australian Federal Police**

Federal Agent William Jamieson, Director, Professional Standards

Mr John Ashley Ryles, Director, Information Technology

**Defence Signals Directorate** 

Mr Tim Burmeister, Acting Assistant Secretary, Information Security

Mr Stephen John Merchant, Director

Mr Steven Ronald Stroud, Acting Manager, Information Security Policy, Information Security Group

Mr Scott Cameron Macleod, Team Leader, Computer Network Vulnerability Team

Mr Steven Charles Mcleod, Acting Technical Adviser, Computer Network Vulnerability Team