D

Appendix D—Witnesses appearing at public hearings

Canberra, Friday 18 August 2000

Australian National Audit Office

Mr Ian McPhee, Deputy Auditor-General Mr Peter White, Executive Director, Performance Audit Services Group Mr Jonathan Hansen, Performance Analyst, Performance Audit Services Group

Australian Customs Service

Rear Admiral Russell Shalders, Director General, Coastwatch Mr Rodney Stone, Director, Coastwatch Operations Mr Lionel Woodward, Chief Executive Officer Mr Keith Johnson, Superintendent, National Marine Unit Mrs Christine Marsden-Smedley, Director, Coastwatch Resources

Australian Bureau of Criminal Intelligence

Mr Mark Holmes, Manager, National Intelligence Assessments

Australian Federal Police

Mr Andrew Hughes, Acting General Manager, National Operations Mr Michael Palmer, Commissioner

Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service

Mr John Cahill, National Manager, Border Management Program

Ms Helen Gannon, Manager, Seaports Program

Mr Robert Murphy, Manager, Border Surveillance Programs

Department of Defence

Mr Allan Behm, Head, Strategy and Ministerial Services Division

Group Captain Enrico Casagrande, Director, Operations and International Law

Commodore Russell Crane, Director General, Intelligence, Surveillance, Reconnaissance and Electronic Warfare

Commodore Warwick Gately, Director General, Joint Operations and Plans, Strategic Command Division

Commander Mark McIntosh, Surveillance Coordination, Headquarters Australian Theatre

Commander David McCourt, Staff Officer Grade One, Current Operations, Northern Command

Commodore Rowan Moffitt, Director General, Navy Capability, Performance and Plans, Royal Australian Navy

Group Captain Geoffrey Roberts, Director, Battlespace Management (Aerospace) Air Force, Air Force Headquarters

Dr Bruce Ward, Chief, Surveillance Systems Division

Commander Robin Warner, Acting Director, Operations and International Law Strategic Command

Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs

Mr Andrew Metcalfe, Deputy Secretary Mr Peter Vardos, Assistant Secretary, Unauthorised Arrivals and Detention Ms Philippa Godwin, First Assistant Secretary, Border Control and Compliance Ms Karen Dundas, Assistant Director, Unauthorised Arrivals

Mr Douglas Mason, Private capacity

Canberra, Friday 8 September 2000

Australian Fisheries Management Authority

Mr Frank Meere, Managing Director Mr Geoffrey Rohan, General Manager, Operations Mr Paul Ryan, Manager, Foreign Compliance Strategy Mr Peter Venslovas, Senior Manager, Compliance

Australian Maritime Safety Authority

Mr Clive Davidson, Chief Executive Ms Rowena Barrell, General Manager, AusSAR

CEA Technologies Pty Ltd Vice Admiral Don Chalmers, AO, RANR, Chairman Mr Mark Foster, Marketing Manager Mr Robert Spencer, Business Development Manager

Environment Australia

Mr Peter Taylor, Director, Marine Protected Areas (West), Marine and Water Division

Mr Sean Hutchens, Acting Assistant Director, Ocean Protection and International Section, Marine and Water Division

Dr David Kay, Assistant Secretary, Marine Conservation Branch

Sonacom Pty Ltd

Mr Gary Clarke, Managing Director

Vice Admiral Don Chalmers, AO, RANR, Executive Officer

Returned and Services League of Australia

Captain William Owen, Member, National Defence Committee

University of Wollongong

Professor Martin Tsamenyi, Director, Centre for Maritime Policy

Mr Walter Bateman, Associate Professor and Principal Research Fellow, Centre for Maritime Policy

Mr John Simmons, Private capacity

Melbourne, Tuesday 17 October 2000

Aimbridge Pty Ltd

Mr Morris Joffe, Chief Executive Officer

Australia Defence Association

Mr Michael O'Connor, Executive Director

Krongold Group of Companies Mr Lionel Krongold, Executive Chairman

National Jet Systems Pty Ltd Mr Graham Giles, Group Commercial Manager

Navy League of Australia Commander Graham Harris, President Mr Frank Evans, Chairman, Advisory Committee

Pacific Corporate Aviation Services

Captain Trevor Noblet, Managing Director

Oceanic Solutions Pty Ltd

Dr Jeremy Ranicar, Director

Surveillance Australia Pty Ltd

Mr John Crowe, Chief Pilot Mr Michael Johnston, Chief Observer Mr David Ollerton, Operations Manager Mr Anthony Patterson, General Manager

Telstra Applied Technologies

Mr Malcolm Morrison, National General Manager Mr Barry Hibble, Consultant

Brisbane, Tuesday 24 October 2000

Island Watch Mr Brian Arley, Project Consultant

Kingfisher Unmanned Aviation Systems Australia

Mr Peter Bale, Director Mr Peter Hill, Director

Reef Helicopters

Mr David Earley, Chief Executive Officer Mr John Bizjak, Senior Observer

Canberra, Tuesday 30 January 2001

Australian Customs Service

Rear Admiral Russell Shalders, Director General, Coastwatch Mr Rodney Stone, Director, Coastwatch Operations Mr Lionel Woodward, Chief Executive Officer

Australian Federal Police

Mr Andrew Hughes, Acting General Manager, National Operations Mr Michael Palmer, Commissioner

Australian Fisheries Management Authority

Mr Frank Meere, Managing Director Mr Geoffrey Rohan, General Manager, Operations Mr Peter Venslovas, Senior Manager Compliance

Australian Maritime Safety Authority

Ms Rowena Barrell, General Manager, AusSAR Mr Clive Davidson, Chief Executive

Australian National Audit Office

Mr Ian McPhee, Deputy Auditor-General Mr Peter White, Executive Director, Performance Audit Services Group Mr Jonathan Hansen, Performance Analyst, Performance Audit Services Group

Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service

Mr John Cahill, National Manager, Border Management Mr Robert Murphy, Manager, Border Surveillance Programs

Department of Defence

Mr Allan Behm, Head, Strategy and Ministerial Services Division

Group Captain Enrico Casagrande, Director, Operations and International Law

Commodore Russell Crane, Director General, Intelligence, Surveillance, Reconnaissance and Electronic Warfare

Air Vice Marshal Angus Houston, Head Strategic Command

Lieutenant Cameron Moore, Legal Officer, Directorate of Operations and International Law

Commander Leslie Rixon, Staff Officer Grade One, Current Operations, Headquarters Northern Command

Brigadier Mike Silverstone, Commander Northern Command, Headquarters Northern Command

Dr Bruce Ward, Chief, Surveillance Systems Division

Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs

Mr Andrew Metcalfe, Deputy Secretary

Mr Greg Mills, Director, Unauthorised Arrivals

Environment Australia

Dr David Kay, Assistant Secretary, Marine Conservation Branch

Mr Philip Domachenz, Senior Project Officer, Marine Protected Areas

Royal Australian Air Force

Group Captain Brett Biddington, Director Battlespace Management (Aerospace) DBM (Aero)

Commodore Rowan Moffitt, Director General Navy Capability, Performance and Plans