С

Appendix C — Witnesses appearing at the public hearing

Canberra, Thursday 4 September 2003

Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry Australia – Australian Quarantine Inspection Services

Mr John Cahill, Executive Manager Mr Robert Murphy, National Manager, Border

Australian Customs Service

Ms Gail Batman, National Director, Border Intelligence and Passengers Mr Timothy Chapman, National Manager, Passengers

Australian Federal Police

Ms Audrey Fagan, Executive Director Protection Federal Agent Stephen Jackson, General Manager Protection and Guarding

Australian National Audit Office

Mr Oliver Winder, Deputy Auditor-General

Mr Warren Cochrane, Group Executive Director, Performance Audit Services Group

Mr Michael Lewis, Executive Director, Performance Audit Services Group

Mr Grant Caine, Senior Director, Performance Audit Services Group

Ms Karen Sutcliffe, A/g Senior Director, Performance Audit Services Group

Department of Defence

Ms Margot McCarthy, Head Defence Security Authority

Lt Colonel Darren Kerr, Commanding Officer, Army Security Authority

Captain Simon Cullen, RAN Commanding Officer, HMAS Albatross

Air Commodore Mark Lax, A/g Deputy Chief of Air Force

Mr John Fletcher, Director, Property Services, Corporate Services and Infrastructure Group

Department of Transport and Regional Services

Mr Andrew Tongue, First Assistant Secretary, Transport Security Regulation Group

Dr Andy Turner, Assistant Secretary, Aviation Security Policy

Mr Tom Grant, General Manager, Organisation Development and Corporate Secretary, Air Services Australia

Mr Michael Howard, Manager, Office of Security Risk Management, Air Services Australia

Canberra, Friday 5 September 2003

Australian Customs Service

Ms Gail Jennifer Batman, National Director, Border Intelligence and Passengers

Australian Security Identity Alliance

Dr Edward Lewis, Convenor

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation

Dr Stephen Giugni, A/g Director ICT Research Centre Dr Warren King, IMT&S Executive Chair Dr Robert Floyd, Leader - Program Development, Secure Australia Program Dr Neale Fulton, Principal Research Engineer

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Bryce Hutchesson, Assistant Secretary, Anti –Terrorism and Intelligence Branch

Mr Greg French, Assistant Secretary, Legal Branch

Mr Paul Smith, Director, Protection, Privileges and Immunities Section

Mr David Engel, Director, Indonesia Section

Ms Elizabeth Ward, Director, Business Facilitation and Secure Trade Section

Mr Damien White, Executive Officer, International Law and Transitional Crime Section

Ms Maria Poulos, Executive Officer, Chemical Biological and Conventional Weapons Section

Mr Robert John Nash, Assistant Secretary, Passports Branch

Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Todd Frew, Assistant Secretary, Entry Branch

Mr Jim Williams, Assistant Secretary, Unauthorised Arrival and Detention Operations

Mr Graham Hanna, Director, Air and Seaports Policy Section, Entry Policy and Systems Branch

Mr Vincent McMahon, Executive Coordinator, Border Control and Compliance Division

Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources

Ms Patricia Kelly, Head of Division, Tourism Division

Ms June Murphy, General Manager, Market Access Group, Tourism Division

Flight Attendants' Association of Australia

Mr Guy Maclean, Manager Safety & Regulatory Affairs – International Division Miss Carol Locket, OH&S Convener

Strategic and Defence Studies Centre, Australian National University

Mr Clive Williams

Sydney, Thursday 2 October 2003

Australian Liquor, Hospitality and Miscellaneous Workers Union

Mr Jeff Lawrence, National Secretary

Bankstown Airport Administration

Mr Kimber Ellis, General Manager

Board of Airline Representatives of Australia

Mr Warren Bennett, Executive Director

Coffs Harbour Airport Administration

Mr Bevan Edwards, Airport Manager

Federal Privacy Commission

Mr Timothy Pilgrim, Deputy Federal Privacy Commissioner Mr Paul Armstrong, Director, Policy

State Government of New South Wales

Mr Brendan O'Reilly, A/g Director General, Premier's Department Mr John Schmidt, Deputy Director General Cabinet Office Mr Gordon Dojcinovic, Inspector, NSW Police Mr Kent Donaldson, Executive Director, Transport Safety, Ministry of Transport Mr Alan Lidbetter, Manager Security and Emergency Management, Ministry of Transport

Sydney Airports Corporation Limited

Mr Steven Fitzgerald, General Manager, Airport Operations Mr Ronald Elliott, Manager, Security Mr Christopher John Falvey, General Manager, Corporate Affairs

Tamworth Airport Administration

Mr Michael Dubois, Business Development Manager

Melbourne, Tuesday 21 October 2003

AACE Worldwide Pty Ltd

Mr Peter Julian Reid, Engineering Manager

Australian Airports Association

Mr Bevan George Edwards, Secretary, New South Wales Division, Regional Airports Representative

Mr David Rodney Piper, Deputy National Chairman

Mr George Joseph Vallence, Member

Australian Services Union

Mr Noel Stanley, Occupation Health and Safety Delegate at Qantas Airways Ltd, Melbourne

Ms Linda White, Assistant National Secretary

Mr Rob Lipman, Member

State Government of Western Australia

Mr Andrew Garret Gaynor, Acting Manager, Aviation Policy, Department for Planning and Infrastructure

ICTS Technologies

Mr Udi Bechor, Director of International Operations

Melbourne Airport, Australian Pacific Airports Corporation (APAC)

Ms Pamela Margaret Graham, Manager, Operations

S3 Strategic Security Solutions Mr Paul Fox, Executive Director Mr Jeffrey Robert Lauder, Director of Operations

ToLife Technologies Pty Ltd

Mr Moshe Maor, Managing Director Mr Moti Meital, Senior Security Consultant

Brisbane, Wednesday 12 November 2003

Brisbane Airport Corporation

Mr Stephen Goodwin, General Manager, Operations Mr Edward Thomas McPheat, Security and Emergency Services Manager

Cairns Port Authority

Mr Ian Robinson, General Manager, Airport Mr Philip Warwick, Security and Emergency Services Manager

L-3 Communications Security and Detection Systems

Mr Mark Knox, Product Specialist Mr Stephen Meltz, Vice President – Asia Pacific

Qantas Airways Ltd

Mr Geoff Askew, Group General Manager, Security and Investigations Mr Trevor Jones, Manager Security Policy and Planning

State Government of Queensland

Mr Richard Conder, Deputy Commissioner, Queensland Police Mr Andy Henderson, Chief Superintendent, Queensland Police Mr Col Robinson, Director Passenger Transport Development Mr Damien Vasta, Senior Adviser, Aviation

Virgin Blue Airlines Pty Ltd

Mr Phil Scanlon, Head of Security Department Mr John Jerome O' Callaghan, Government Relations Adviser

Canberra, Monday 24 November 2003

Chubb Security Personnel

Mr Michael McKinnon, Executive Director, Chubb Security Personnel Ms Alisa Goodyear, National Aviation Manager

Department of Transport and Regional Services

Mr Andrew Tongue, First Assistant Secretary, Transport Security Regulation Group

Dr Andy Turner, Assistant Secretary, Aviation Security Policy

Group 4 Securitas Pty Ltd

Mr John George, Group General Manager